All I Know Now – Carrie Hope Fletcher

This is probably one of the most helpful books I have ever read. It is full of great advice on growing up and gives you some big sisterly advice that I really needed to hear.This was written by one of my most favourite Youtubers, Carrie Hope Fletcher or ItsWayPastMyBedTime, unlike some of the books written my Youtubers, I genuinely bought this book to see if it would help me in anyway… and it certainly did.

For those who don’t know, Carrie is a very talented singer who is currently playing Eponine in the very successful musical Les Miserables (and wow she can sing!), with her very busy schedule she manages to make AMAZING Youtube videos and now she’s managed to write a book! Where does she find the time?!?This book is a teenage handbook to try and make this confusing and complicated part of our life seem a little more straight forward, and to help us not make the same mistakes as Carrie did.

I really did learn a lot from this book, I just wish I had it when I was about 11 or 12 and not 17, so that the previous 6 years could have been a little less bumpy! This book was kind of like a warm hug, gently telling me that everything is going to be okay, and that the teen age is survivable (amazingly). It was like true and honest big sisterly advice, and being born with an older brother instead of an older sister, this advice was much appreciated! It was really colloquial to read, it was almost like a humongous blog post (and I think it’s pretty obvious as to how much we all love blogging!) and because it was so casual it really felt as though she was talking to you personally. There were many British-isums though that I’m not sure people in other countries will understand, but, to be it made it feel really friendly.From Carrie’s videos, I felt like I knew her anyway, but now I feel as though we’re genuine friends even though we’ve never met.

Another thing that I really love is that it is full with really cool little quirky drawings (Drawn by Carrie herself, I swear is there anything this woman can’t do? Eternally jealous!) They’re just super cute and really reflect the chapters and everything they represent. Some of the chapters in this book include help with love, school, that school bully, and just life in general. It’s just so bloomin’ helpful! It’s also filled with funny, heart-warming and heart-breaking personal stories that will really make you think your teenage years were a little paddling pool, compared to Carrie’s Atlantic Ocean, it honestly puts everything into perspective.

There is so much I could say about this book and so many amazing aspects, but I don’t want to waffle on… I just really enjoyed this book, I have actually decided to make my future children (if I have future children that is…) read it because it will make their teenage years feel so much less daunting and scary. Although it wasn’t the fastest read for me, as I’m more of a fast pace, high action book lover, it was a real worthwhile read that anyone will benefit from reading!

I’m going to award it 5 out of 5 stars, it helped me a lot, thanks Carrie.

One thought on “All I Know Now – Carrie Hope Fletcher

Leave a Reply

