May 2017 Wrap Up and June TBR!

Last month, I was bombarded with essays galore and exams so I didn’t have much time for reading and the books I did read were mainly re-reads for revision. I only read four books last month by two different authors, them being Ian McEwan, whose work I absolutely adore and Francesca Haig, who was a lecturer at the University of Chester and someone I had the pleasure of interviewing a few months ago.

Now that I’ve finished University I can’t wait to read as much as possible and catch up on all the books that I still haven’t read. I finally got my hands on ‘Lord of Shadows’ by Cassandra Clare, ‘A Court of Mist and Fury’ by Sarah J Maas and ‘The Crown’ by Kiera Cass all of which I plan to read this month! Recently I’ve also really got back into the Shannara Chronicles and decided to start reading the books because I need to know what’s going to happen in season 2! If you haven’t yet watched the show yet I did a blog post on all the reasons why you should go and watch it which I will link here!

The Fire Sermon by Francesca Haig – I was given the honour of interviewing Francesca a few months ago but we mainly focused on her poetry which is absolutely stunning and I highly recommend you check out. Anyway, she used to be a senior lecturer at the University of Chester until she wrote her first YA dystopian novel ‘The Fire Sermon’! It was from meeting her and the fact that she used to teach at my university which encouraged me to pick up her book but that did mean I went in with high expectations and I wasn’t disappointed! I found the concept of having an Alpha and Omega with the lifeline connection really interesting and made the plot and the relationship between characters more complex.

The Map of Bones by Francesca Haig – I fell in love with the first book in this series but when it came to the sequel, I was sadly disappointed and saw myself at times skim reading a few chapters, nevertheless, there were many parts of the novel that I enjoyed especially the fact that even from the first page we are thrown back into the action. Francesca Haig once again throws you into a world of conflict, betrayal, hope and despair and likes to keeps the reader on their toes as the plot thickens – every time I think I know what is coming she throws me a curveball.

Atonement by Ian McEwan – My all time favourite McEwan novel because it is just so beautiful yet heartbreaking and always leaves me in tears. I didn’t really mind re-read this for my revision and it gave me another excuse to watch the film again too! I did a review on the book a while ago, and if I had to recommend any McEwan book then it would be this one!

On Chesil Beach by Ian McEwan – I read this book five times for my revision and I know it so well I could probably recite the first page for you. When I first read this book I will admit that I didn’t love it but after studying it and seeing it through different perspectives, I was able to see how brilliant it really is and notice things I didn’t pick up the first time reading it.

Leave a Reply

