The Map of Bones – Francesca Haig

I fell in love with the first book in this series but when it came to the sequel, I was sadly disappointed and saw myself at times skim reading a few chapters, nevertheless, there were many parts of the novel that I enjoyed especially the fact that even from the first page we are thrown back into the action. Francesca Haig once again throws you into a world of conflict, betrayal, hope and despair and likes to keeps the reader on their toes as the plot thickens – every time I think I know what is coming she throws me a curveball. If you haven’t read the first book then I will link my review here!

Following on immediately in the aftermath of part one, we join up with Cass and the resistance for the next part of their intense and often emotional journey. Determined to stop her brother fulfilling his twisted plans for what is left of humanity, Cass must uncover the mysterious of the before whilst trying to prevent the plans of the Council. What really makes this series for me is the captivating writing, gorgeous yet sometimes haunting descriptions and the emotive storytelling that keeps me fully invest in our characters and their journey. Being able to see more of the post-apocalyptic world Haig ahs created was also interesting and enjoyable as well as learning more about the bleak history of the surviving generations of the before.

We are also introduced to a whole range and dynamic of new characters as well as learning more about ones we saw in the first book, especially my favourites Piper and Zoe. I loved them in the first book and I enjoyed the fact that we got to learn more about them and their past in the second book as well as seeing their relationship with Cass develop. I’ve warmed up to Cass more in this book and I still live for those confrontation scenes with her brother because they are so heart-stopping and suspenseful.

Once again I’ve reached the end of the book and found myself demanding what happens next and fearful for the unknown and the fate of these characters who I love! I am now left waiting in excitement the next book in the series because Haig has left us on a cliffhanger with so many possibilities and I can’t wait to see where Cass, Piper and Zoe all end up!

One thought on “The Map of Bones – Francesca Haig

Leave a Reply

