Caraval – Stephanie Garber

I love this book and I will go as far to admit that it’s one of my favourites of the year so far. The magic, adventure, and mystery are what makes this story difficult to put down, and just like the Caraval, it sucks you in and invites you to loose yourself in its wonderful world. Garber makes it easy to fall in love with her characters and I can guarantee that it will have you on the edge of your seat through the entire story.

Scarlett Dragna has never left the tiny island where she and her sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval—the faraway, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show—are over. But this year, Scarlett’s long-dreamt-of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season’s Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.

This book loves to play with the reader as well as its characters and I felt that I was right there with Scarlett throughout the whole storyline. What shines in this book though is the action, as behind every chapter something exciting is thrown in our direction and mysteries are uncovered throwing us in a completely different direction to where we thought the story was taking us.

The developing and budding relationship between Julian and Scarlet has to be one of my favourite things about this book. Julian is rugged, bold and handsome and I think I could be in love with him! His banter with Scarlet and how he kept calling her ‘Crimson’ was just so darn cute. Sisterhood also played a massive role in this book with Scarlet risking everything she had to save her sister but I wish we got to see more of Tella as I really liked her character.

All in all, I loved this book and the mystery behind it and I need the second one asap! If you’re a fan of fantasy novels and thrilling and intellegent plots then I highly recommed you give this one a read, plus have a look at that cover isn’t it stunning and I’m sure it would look even better on your bookshelf!

 

Leave a Reply

