April 2017 Wrap Up

This is the first monthly wrap-up post that I’ve ever written, and have been wanting to write one for ages but my reading list hasn’t been very long to justify one! I kept seeing them around on everyone else’s blogs so I thought I would finally jump on the bandwagon and plus I’ve read a few really good books this month that I really want to brag about and recommend! For the majority of the year so far, I’ve been suffering from a major reading slump and have struggled to balance Uni work and reading. I managed to cure this book slump with ‘The Valiant’ by Lesley Livingston which was a fast paced adventure that got me back into reading, however, I have exams at the end of May which might mean that my reading progress might falter a bit again. Anyway, I managed to read 5 books this April which I am really pleased with because of my previous reading slump and I hope that I will be able to keep this progress up! All books listed have reviews which I will like below.

By Your Side by Kasie West – I’ve always been a fan of Kasie West and she’s one of my go-to laid back contemporary authors who’s books I fly through and her new novel wasn’t any different. I was surprised then to find out that we got a lot more from this book than just a cute romance set in a library, we dealt with mental illness, child neglect, friendship, and trust. Review to come…

Caraval by Stephanie Garber – I love this book and I will go as far to admit that it’s one of my favourites of the year so far. The magic, adventure, and mystery are what makes this story difficult to put down, and just like the Caraval, it sucks you in and invites you to loose yourself in its wonderful world. Garber makes it easy to fall in love with her characters and I can guarantee that it will have you on the edge of your seat through the entire story. Review to come…

The Murder Complex by Lindsey CummingsI came across Lindsey through Booktube and particularly through Sasha Alsbergs channel and the fact that they both wrote Zenith together. After reading the synopsis I was instantly drawn in and excited to pick it up and I’m glad I did as it was a chilling, action-packed adventure but pre-warning the story is full of blood and killing which I was expecting but not to this extent!

The Valiant by Lesley Livingston This book cured my serious reading slump as I hadn’t read a book for personal enjoyment for a couple of months, which I know is really bad!  Its fast pace and short chapters made it really easy to read but addictive so much so that I sometimes struggled to put it down. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book which is set in Ancient Rome and I loved all the mythology that was intertwined in the storyline and I just found it really refreshing and interesting.

The Life and Times of Michael K by J. M. Coetzee – A book I had to read for University and is one of my lectures favourite books so I went into this book with high expectations. Sadly it wasn’t my cup of tea, there was no doubt that its a brilliant book with an even better ending but it’s not something I would look to read again!

Leave a Reply

