Books We Want to be Made​ Into Movies

filmwish

Nowadays most of our favourite YA novels are being or already have been adapted for film including The Hunger Games and The Maze Runner and this Summer’s romance drama ‘Everything Everything’ which I am super excited for as the trailer looked amazing and I am a huge fan of the book. But there’s always that worry that directors and producers aren’t going to stick to the book which occasionally results in a crap movie *cough* Percy Jackson *cough*. Most of the book to movie adaptations I’ve seen recently though have been pretty good and the elements they’ve changed and added I felt have been beneficial. Anyway, this got me thinking about a few of my favourite books and which ones I’d love to see on the big screen, so here’s a few that I hope one day will successfully be made into movies!

The Queen of the Tearling – If you haven’t heard of ‘The Queen of the Tearling’, its a fantasy/sci-fi novel set in the distant future and sees Princess Kelsea battling the evil Red Queen in an attempt to claim her throne. From what I’ve heard this is a Warner Bros project and even has the backing of Emma Watson who apparently loved the book so much that she’s considering tying herself to another franchise for the sake of being involved. And to top it all off Harry Potter producer David Heyman is also on board so I have high hopes for this adaptation!

Shadow and Bone – One of my all time favourite series which follows an orphan girl in a fantasy world discovers her own magical abilities when her best friend is in danger –making her an in-demand monster hunter. The rights were snatched up by DreamWorks back in 2012 and once again Producer David Heyman, the man who saw the potential in J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter books, was attached to produce, along with Jeffrey Clifford of Heymaker Films.

Six of Crows – The Grisha world is definitely one of my favourites so there’s no surprise that another one of Leigh Bardugo’s books is on my list, I need to see this world on the big screen! I tried to look for info on a possible movie but I can’t find anything but I hope if the do decide to make this into a film then please let it be good, this is one of my favorite books, I don’t want them to ruin it with a bad adaptation!

Anna and the French Kiss – I thought I should include a contemporary on my list as the rest of them are all fantasy novels. But this is such a cute story about a girl called Anna who is sent to France for School and it’s here she meets Etienne St Clair who is just wonderful in my eyes!

Throne of Glass – Probably my favourite YA series because Sarah J Maas is such a legend who has a real gift for writing and creating amazing characters. It was announced a while ago that these books were going to be adapted for a TV Show which I have mixed feelings about as I love these books so much I’d want the TV Show to be perfect and I really don’t want it to turn out like Shadowhunters! Anyway, Hulu is developing Queen of Shadows, from the Mark Gordon Company, which will serve as a studio on the project and its series portfolio includes works like Criminal Minds and Grey Anatomy so fingers crossed its good!

I’ve got so many more books that I want to list but this list was getting a bit too long so if you guys enjoyed this then let me know and I’ll make a second post! Plus I’d love to know what books you’d like to see on the big screen, so leave us a comment!

2 thoughts on “Books We Want to be Made​ Into Movies

  1. bookreviews5blog says:

    I haven’t read Anna and the French Kiss yet but I’m a massive contemporary fan and I know a lot of people really liked it. I can’t wait to give it a read

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

