What I’ve Been Reading At University #2

After the success of my first post, I thought I’d share what other books I’ve had to read in my second term of University. For those who don’t know I’m currently studying English Literature at the University of Chester and being an English student means lots and lots of reading but I don’t mind because I’m a bit of a book worm. I will link my previous post here if you wish to see what I read in my first term! Anyway, let’s begin…

  1. Northanger Abbey by Jane Austin – I’ve always been a fan of Jane Austin with ‘Pride and Prejudice’ being one of my all time favourite novels but I’d never read ‘Northanger Abbey’ until now; I loved it. I enjoyed the combination and satire of the Gothic novel and how active and crazy Catherine’s imagination was.
  2. On Chesil Beach by Ian McEwan – Most Ian McEwan books, are slightly weird and obscure and this wasn’t an exception. I enjoyed it but it’s certainly not something I would recommend to my mum! If you’re looking for something short, funny (in an odd kind of way) and a little different then I recommend you pick some of his early works up including ‘On Chesil Beach’.
  3. The Road by Cormac McCarthy – Another book I had to read for my contemporary module and I absolutely loved it. It’s unique writing style and the post-apocalyptic world had me hooked from the very first page and I easily finished it on the train back to Uni.
  4. The Worlds Wife by Carol Ann Duffy – We’re changing things up here as this is a collection of poetry rather than a novel. If you don’t know, Carol Ann Duffy is the UK’s poet laureate and many students in the UK study her poetry at high school. This collection, however, focuses on the fictional wive’s of many male historical and mythical figures and are just quite nice to read now and then.
  5. The poetry of Franchesca Haig – I’d be impressed if anyone knew who Francesca Haig is as she used to be a lecturer at the University of Chester until she wrote her first young adult novel ‘The Fire Sermon’ which was quite successful and has now been picked up by Dreamworks to be made into a film. Anyway, her poetry is some of my favourite and today I’ve been lucky enough to be chosen to interview her so keep your eyes peeled on a blog post on that!

I hope you enjoyed the second instalment of what I’ve read at university and that you’ve found it intresting and if you’re are currently studying at University too, I’d love to know what books you’ve been reading.

Leave a Reply

