Before I Fall – Lauren Oliver

When I heard that they were adapting this book to film, admittedly I wasn’t that excited but as soon as I watched the trailer and read the summary my mind was changed. From what we’re shown in the trailer the film looks really good and I’m really pleased with the casting. I did enjoy this book and its message is certainly thought-provoking and important for teens however for me I just couldn’t connect with the characters.

Before I Fall raises thought-provoking questions about love, death, and how one person’s life can affect so many others. For popular high school senior Samantha Kingston, February 12—”Cupid Day”—should be one big party, a day of valentines and roses and the privileges that come with being at the top of the social pyramid. And it is…until she dies in a terrible accident that night. However, she still wakes up the next morning. In fact, Sam lives the last day of her life seven times, until she realises that by making even the slightest changes, she may hold more power than she ever imagined.

I loved the idea of the storyline and I was worried that repeating the same day would just get boring but Oliver manages to keep each day different and interesting which in turn enabled our character to mature. I didn’t connect at all with Sam but I did enjoy seeing her change as a person and realise the impacts and consequences of her actions. And that’s the most important thing about this book, how words, actions and bullying can drive someone to the extreme.

In all, I enjoyed a lot of things about the book especially it’s message and plot but because I didn’t really connect or love the characters I would have to give it 4/5 stars. However, this doesn’t mean that I’m not excited for the film nor will it stop me from seeing it.

Leave a Reply

