Oscars – Biased Predictions 2017

oscars

Yes, it’s that time of year again, awards season. This is my favourite time of year as I’m a huge fan of film and I love to see the all the celebrities get dressed up on the red carpet and most importantly see who receives which awards. Last year, I did a post like this and because I enjoyed doing it so much I thought I’d share my predictions again, so without further ado let’s get on with the post! Feel free to leave your predictions in the comments or if you’ve done a similar post then let us know!

Best Picture – Every year I try at least to watch all the Oscar nominated films and for the first time I’ve managed to watch all of them and written reviews for some of them! I would hate to have the job at picking the winner because all of these nominations were just fantastic however if I wanted anyone to win the Oscar it would be either La La Land or Arrival but I’m putting my money more on La La Land.

Actor in a Leading RoleRyan Gosling was the easy choice for this, due to his incredible performance in La La Land and his amazing piano playing skills. I was also surprisingly impressed with Viggo Mortensen performance in Captain Fantastic but I think it’s unlikely that he will win.

Actress in a Leading Role – How can it not be Emma Stone? She is just incredible and clearly, deserves the Oscar for best female role because again her performance in La La Land was just so joyful and emotional. I would also love for Amy Adams, O wait she didn’t get nominated which I think is an outrage because her performances in Arrival and Nocturnal Animals were both awards worthy. I’ll stop myself there before my rant get’s out of control!

Actor in a Supporting RoleDev Patel provides a deeply empathic role in Lion which I can guarantee will have you in tears and I have to admit I think it’s one of his strongest performances to date and deserves the Oscar! Finger crossed!

Actress in a Supporting RoleOctavia Spencer’s performance in Hidden Figures was so good and I wish both Taraji P. Henson and Janelle Monáe could both be nominated and win because those three together was perfect!

Best Director  – I apologise that most of my predictions are either for Arrival and La La Land but they some of my favourite films of this year! As no surprise, I’d love either Denis Villeneuve (Arrival) or Damien Chazelle (La La Land) to win.

Music Original Song – Audition (The Fools That Dream) from La La Land has been on repeat since I saw the film a couple of weeks ago. Everything about this song is beautiful from the lyrics to Emma Stones brilliant execution. If you haven’t yet listened to the La La Land soundtrack, stop what you’re doing and go listen to it now!

Leave a Reply

