The Sun Is Also A Star – Nicola Yoon

I received this book Net Galley in exchange for an honest review.

Everyone has been raving about this book and quite rightly so because it was beautiful. After reading Nicola Yoon’s first book ‘Everything Everything’ (which I also recommend you read), I fell in love with her writing and unique storylines, so when I heard about her newest release I got very excited. I didn’t think this would be a difficult review to write but it was because there is just so much to say about this book and there were elements that I enjoyed that I can’t put into words!

Natasha is being deported and is trying to do everything to stop this. Daniel has an interview for Yale to be a doctor but that’s not his dream, it’s his parents. ‘The Sun is Also a Star’ follows the heartbreaking journey of these two strangers as they cross paths in the bustling city of New York. Maybe it’s fate that brought them together or just bad timing but whatever it was it sparked a connection that neither one of them was expecting to find.

The character diversity is one of the things that makes this book stand out and such an enjoyable and interesting read! Our protagonists come from completely different backgrounds with Daniel being Korean-American and Natasha being Jamaican but both suffer the struggles of immigration and culture clashes. I think Nicola Yoon did a fantastic job with ‘The Sun is Also a Star’ in keeping the balance between a wonderfully and culturally insightful read and one that was also relatable in many ways, to people from many walks of life.

The Sun is Also a Star is written in such an enjoyable and unique structure as it had super short, snappy chapters which I adored and made it almost impossible to put down. The idea of the story only taking place in a day, I thought worked really well as even though a lot happened in a short amount of time I didn’t feel rushed or overwhelmed; everything was perfect. Even the ending was perfect and made me cry for various different reasons that I don’t want to give away but I can say that I was pleasantly surprised and that I don’t think it could have had a better ending.

Another unique element I enjoyed was the various different perspectives as it was also predominantly written from the perspectives of our protagonists, Natasha and Daniel but there are also the occasional chapters written from the points of view of others, which I enjoyed as we were able to see a glimpse into their difficult lives too. But it wasn’t just other characters we were given chapters on but an insight into the history and meaning behind certain words, cultures, sciences and I really do feel like after reading it I’d learned something.

I don’t want to label this book as life-changing because that’s cheesy as hell but it gave me a new perspective on how I view and judge different people. All the different perspectives and philosophical ideas Yoon presents are really thought provoking, so much so that even as I sit here writing this, I am still reflecting on her wise words. It’s pretty clear that I loved it and I seriously recommend that you pick this heartwarming and heartbreaking book up as it is more than your typical boy meets girl story.

One thought on “The Sun Is Also A Star – Nicola Yoon

Leave a Reply

