Three Dark Crowns – Kendare Blake

Pre-warning: Minor Spoilers

This was on my top 10 most anticipated reads for 2016 as I thought the concept was really unique and it reminded me of a crossover between The Hunger Games and Red Queen with the magical powers and fight to the death aspects. Although this book was really hard to get into, I was glad I made it to the end because what a genius and unexpected  twist that was and I now can’t wait for the second book!

Every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born: three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental,  Katharine is a poisoner, and Arsinoe, a naturalist. But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth, each sister has to fight for it. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins. The last queen standing gets the crown.

Admittedly, I found it really hard to get into with all the world building and different character perspectives but as the book went on it all began to make sense! Not much really happened in the beginning of the book however things did pick up half way trough and the ending…whoa I did not expect that and I’m super excited for the next book in the series as I feel like there will be more action and adventure, well fingers crossed anyway! I didn’t totally click with the present tense writing style at first, either, but I was fine with that aspect by the end!

There were so many characters and so many different points of view which at times got a little confusing but I enjoyed discovering different characters plots, secrets and emotions. I felt sometimes however that some characters were forgotten about and I would have preferred to been kept updated will all of them, nevertheless, I enjoyed all perspectives and I was glad that it wasn’t just from the Queens but their friends and family too! 

Overall, I really enjoyed this book and I’m super excited for the release of its sequel! I’d give it 3/5 stars, just because it was a little difficult to get into but if you looking for a new and unique fantasy read then this one should be right up your street, just be extremely patient.

2 thoughts on “Three Dark Crowns – Kendare Blake

Leave a Reply

