Blood For Blood – Ryan Graudin

I was an emotional wreck when I fished this book, and rightly so because it tore out my heart and kept it beating at 100mph as it took me along it’s beautiful and action packed journey; I loved it. I can easily say that this series will be featuring in my top 10 favourites of 2016 because everything about it was just brilliant and I’m just upset that it’s ended.

‘Blood for Blood’ is a continuation of the first book ‘Wolf by Wolf’ and picks up exactly where the last book ended; right in the action. The year is 1956, and the Axis powers of the Third Reich and Imperial Japan rule the world. Our protagonist Yael is on the run after the world watched her shoot Hitler but the truth of what happened is far more complicated, and its consequences are deadly. Yael and her unlikely comrades dive into enemy territory to try to turn the tide against the New Order, and there is no alternative but to see their mission through to the end, whatever the cost.

Spoilers – I’m sorry it was too hard to write a spoiler-free review

Every aspect of this book was perfect, I don’t know where to start. Characters. I loved the fact that in this book we were given different points of view from Yael, Luka and Felix and I found it really interesting to see Luka’s and Felix’s thoughts as they helped reveal what type of character they really were. Yael was once again the perfect protagonist, she’s strong and brave but also really compassionate as she puts all of her trust into her companions. Felix, on the other hand, broke my heart with his betrayal and had me shouting at his character a few times. Luka. His character development was beautiful and being able to dive further into his head and really understanding him made me like him even more. He is a selfless and good person. I love his humour and his wit, though he uses them like armour. As for the storyline, it was once again action-packed with twists and turns just like the first and never once did I find a dull moment!

I feel like I can’t review this book without discussing the ending. Bloody hell wasn’t it dramatic and heartwrenching. Why did you have to kill Luka? His character development made him such a loveable character and I was ready for him and Yael to have a happy ending together, I shipped them so hard! I wasn’t expecting to cry at this book but you had me balling my eyes out, like serious ugly crying, it wasn’t pretty.

Overall, it’s pretty clear that I’m madly in love with this series and I highly recommend that everyone pick this series up as it’s jam-packed with action, adventure, drama and heartbreak! What more could you want?

Leave a Reply

