The Queen of the Tearling – Erika Johansen

First things first, I’m sorry for the lack of posts, we’ve both had so much work and reading to do for our course so we haven’t read or reviewed anything recently. But I read ‘Queen of the Tearling’ whilst I was on holiday this summer (yeah, I know it’s a bit late!) and I just had to share my opinion of this book because it has to be one of my favourite fantasy reads of this year! The characters were refreshing and the storyline was exciting and jam-packed with action.

Kelsea Raleigh, an untested young princess who was raised in hiding after the death of her mother, Queen Elyssa, far from the intrigues of the royal Keep, must claim her throne, learn to become a queen, and combat a malevolent sorceress in an epic battle between light and darkness in this spectacular debut.

Our protagonist Kelsey, is such a powerful and strong character as well as being described as plain and a little on the heavy side, which I think is also refreshing compared to the usual female leads who end up being gorgeous and with a model-like body. She’s also described as being a huge bibliophile, which I can obviously relate to as well!

Every character in this book was a joy to read about from Lazarus and Pen to Arlen Thorne but my favourite secondary character had to the Fetch! I freaking love him already even though his character is so shady and mysterious and he has only appeared in about 2 chapters but finger crossed we see more of him in the sequel!

One thing though I couldn’t wrap my head around and found slightly confusing was the history of the world and how the story is set in the future but they’re living in medieval conditions?! But nevertheless I found the world building really interesting and I love/hate the fact that we are still left with loads of unanswered questions about the world….

Overall, I thought this was a brilliant debut novel which amazing characters, storylines and I can’t wait to read the second book. If you’re a fan of Red Queen or Throne of Glass then this book is perfect for you and I recommend you pick it up!

Plus, what is it true that Emma Watson will be playing Kelsea in the film adaptation? If this is true then I’m sure that it will be an amazing movie!

2 thoughts on “The Queen of the Tearling – Erika Johansen

  1. infinitbr says:

    EMMA WATSON?! FILM ADAPTION! If that’s not true I might just be heartbroken. Anyways, I loved this book! I agree about it being really refreshing to have her plain and chubby, since for once men would have to fall in love with her brains and actions than her beauty. Have you read the second book though? I also loved that it was medieval and in the future and didn’t really question it until you said that! It’s so odd that they’re not more advanced.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

