Champion – Marie Lu

This book tore out my heart and emotionally ruined me! It was the perfect ending to what has been a brilliant series and something I really enjoyed reading! This epic conclusion was bigger and better than the previous books with kick ass and dramatic fight scenes and emotional cliff hangers especially the ending!

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. But just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. They must work together with the Elector to help protect the people of the Republic and their home before it is too late…

Right from the beginning the book picked up and threw you back into the story and I loved that once again the story was fast paced and kept you on the edge of your seat for the entire thing with it’s clit hangers after every chapter; I couldn’t put it down! I also enjoyed exploring more of the world Lu created and learning more about the different powers and how society worked. I think Lu ended her series perfectly, as it wasn’t your typical happy ending, everyone lives happily ever after instead it had a unexpected twist which emotionally ruined me and had me in tears.

I also really like the way Lu has developed her characters. For me, June and Day have come a long way and matured so much since book one and that is also true for their relationship as I feel like they were far more loveable as a couple in this book than I’ve ever noticed before. Her writing is again just so powerful and she made Day’s health condition sound more frightening than murder and also turned Day and June’s simple exchange of ‘hi and hello’ into something so painful which for a reader broke my heart.

I still can’t believe it is over and I really wish it wasn’t as it was a really fantastic series that I highly recommend to everyone as it is full of action and some cracking characters who I have no doubt you’ll fall in love instantly with, just like I did. As you probably can all tell by now it obvious that I rate this book 5/5 stars and it was a perfect conclusion to a fab series. Thank you Marie Lu!

2 thoughts on “Champion – Marie Lu

Leave a Reply

