Cruel Beauty – Rosamund Hodge

Cruel Beauty is a wonderfully written blend of Beauty and the Beast retelling and Greek mythology which is a combination of two of my favourite things and to top it off it’s characters were equally as wonderful and powerful, especially Nyx. This heart-breaking love story was full of twists and turns as well as sticking to the classic Beauty and the Beast storyline which I really enjoyed.

Based on the classic fairy tale Beauty and the Beast, Cruel Beauty is a dazzling love story about our deepest desires and their power to change our destiny. Since birth, Nyx has been betrothed to the evil ruler, Ingifex, of her kingdom-all because of a foolish bargain struck by her father. And since birth, she has been in training to kill him.But Ignifex is not at all what Nyx expected. The strangely charming lord beguiles her, and his castle—a shifting maze of magical rooms—enthrals her. As Nyx searches for a way to free her homeland by uncovering Ignifex’s secrets, she finds herself unwillingly drawn to him. Even if she could bring herself to love her sworn enemy, how can she refuse her duty to kill him?

I believe it is important for a good book to have a great protagonist and narrator and in Cruel Beauty we had both. Nyx, was such as badass, powerful and defiant character who I instantly fell in love with. She was strong-willed, witty and brave as well as being angry and bitter which all in all created a fantastic character who I look forward to reading more about. Ignifex was also brillant. As soon as we met him I knew I liked him and was going to fall more in love with him as the pages turned. What I liked best about Ignifex was his wicked sense of humour. There’s nothing quite like a villain who is constantly witty and hilarious. The complex layers of each character in this book just blew my mind, no one is ever simple or cliche and each of their character development was beautifully crafted.

Another aspect of this book that I really enjoyed and found really unique was the world building and I loved that we were able to explore the house and the world in it! I’m still not sure I understand the ending but it doesn’t really matter because the whole book was brilliant and full of so many twists and turns.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book and I just found out there is more to this series which has got me quite excited because I want to find out more about what happened at the end of the book and I’m interested to see where the next book takes us.

One thought on “Cruel Beauty – Rosamund Hodge

Leave a Reply

