Me Before You – Film Review

First of all I would like to apologise for how late this blog post is as I thought I’d already posted it but instead it was just sitting in my draft box! Whoops! I wanted to read the book before I saw the film and it was the day after I had finished reading the book I went and saw the film – I loved it! It was a really fab adaptation and of course it was missing some elements from the book but thats what you have to expect, they can’t include everything!

I thought the casting was perfect. Emilia Clark was the perfect Louisa as she was bubbly, cute and her costumes were on point and helped portray her wonderful personality. Sam Clafin as Will Traynor again was brilliant and I loved how his character was completely different to Louisa; the contrats worked really well and I enjoyed seeing their relationship develop onscreen.

The film is great to watch whether or not you read the book – it’s so close to the book and made with so much love for the book, that the one’s who have read it won’t be disappointed and it’s such a great, funny and touching story, that you don’t need that little bit more backstory that reading the book gives you. Surprisingly, I didn’t cry at the film but I think it was because I knew what was going to happen from reading the book but that didn’t stop me from feeling all the emotions!

The film cinematography looks so simple, yet spectacular. The scenic shots of the Pembroke Castle, and the picturesque Wales countryside makes it an immediate bucket list destination upon seeing the film. The pacing again worked really well and it was nice to see Lou and Will’s relationship develop onscreen! One of my favourite scenes had to be the end when we see Louisa sat in the cafe in Paris as she reads Will’s letter, as Paris is one of my all time favourite cities and it was lovely to see one of my favourite characters there too!

Overall, it was a brillant adaptation which I’m sure fans will be happy about as I know I was and it is easy to give this film 5/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

