On The Other Side – Carrie Hope Fletcher

I am such a huge fan of Carrie, her Youtube channel is one of my absolute favourites, so I was SO happy and relieved that I actually loved this book! Some may think that this opinion is biased, but it honestly isn’t, the story was strong and seriously beautifully written!

This book as had a fair amount of hype (well I heard a lot of hype), but if you don’t know this book is about Evie Snow, after living a long and fulfilling life, Evie peacefully passed away in her sleep. However she finds herself back in her 27 year old body, unable to enter her own heaven. She soon finds out that this is because her soul is too heavy to pass on because of 3 secrets she has kept her whole life that need to be revealed. In order to do this Evie has to relive and revisit her eventful and troubled life.

I think you’ll agree with me that this is a very interesting concept, it had me intrigued before I even opened the first page! I really haven’t read a book like it, and certainly one that was so well structured, that was something that really impressed me about this book, I’ve read books in the past with dual stories/time periods and I always ended up confused. This really wasn’t the case with this book, the backstory beautifully entwined with the current story and was placed at the perfect time to ensure optimum enjoyment for the reader! Also I cannot stress enough how well this book was written, and I’ve read a lot of books both well and poorly written, with this book I noticed Fletchers’ talent within the first paragraph! Everything flowed and each word was perfectly picked so I saw each character and scene so clearly, I love, love, loved it!

There are a few things that I would like clarification on though, this is in no way a criticism but I was slightly unsure as to the time period this book was set in… because I got the sense with Evie’s mother that she was rather Victorian so I pictured her in these Victorian gowns in big Victorian houses, but Evie and various other characters I pictured a lot more modern? There was the odd mention of technology so it must be modern but I can’t get the Victorian images out of my head! Also there was a touch of magic in this book, which I absolutely loved, it gave a new dimension to the story, however most of the story was set in normal life, so I was wondering whether that was genuine magic or if it was meant to be a metaphor? Either way I loved it, I was only wondering…

I really loved the characters in this book, I don’t want to say too much for fear of spoilers though… Evie was such a strong and refreshing character, I really enjoyed learning more about her and her life, inspirational is a word that comes to mind, although I couldn’t help but draw similarities between Evie and Carrie herself… It’s fair to say that I definitely pictured Carrie as Evie… Then there’s Vincent Winters, oh Vincent, what a gorgeous character, their little love story was equally adorable and tragic, he’s a lovable soul, what else can I say? Finally I’ll mention Eleanor Snow, Evie’s Mother, if there was going to be a ‘villain’ in this story it would be Eleanor Snow. Oh man, but I have to agree I did enjoy hating her! But Carrie if you’re reading this (you’re probably not) but not all people named Eleanor as as vile as Eleanor Snow, there’s one here who adored your book!

All in all, this was a wonderful book, I very much enjoyed it and was totally hooked from the start, I highly recommend it! I’m going to give this book a 5 out of 5 stars, a beautiful story that I loved experiencing!

One thought on “On The Other Side – Carrie Hope Fletcher

Leave a Reply

