Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – J.K.Rowling, John Tiffany & Jack Thorne

The joy and excitement that came from reading another Harry Potter book and from experiencing the adventure in the Wizarding World was certainly overwhelming and I have to admit I was almost brought to tears after reading the first couple of pages. Like every other Harry Potter book, the plot was magical and full of surprises (some of which were slightly predictable) and didn’t fail to excite me! Seeing our beloved characters all grown up, with children and careers in the Wizarding World was really enjoyable and nostalgic and being able to follow their children’s journeys through Hogwarts and the Wizarding World again was magical and never left a dull moment.

Reading a script rather than a proper book, at first had me a little worried that I would struggle with it but actually I really enjoyed it as it was really different from what I’ve read before and it didn’t take me long to finish it and the pages just kept turning. There were scenes which I loved and had me wondering how they would portray it on stage so it’s clear that I really need to see the play but most of the time they were easy to imagine, although there were some points where I feel I would have really benefited in seeing it visually! Also for those who are complaining that it’s a script and not a book… please calm down and just be appreciative that we have something!

The new characters (in terms of the ‘children’) were really interesting to learn about! A few things surprised me and things were not as I was expecting but they were still absolutely wonderful and I wouldn’t change anything about them. Everything worked beautifully and made complete sense as to why those characters are as they are… if that makes sense?

It’s easy to give it 5/5 stars and I highly recommend that all fans of Harry Potter read this book and be sucked back into the magic that is the wizarding world. But if I was to give you some advice? Savour it because before you know it it’s over  and you’re sat there unsure what to do with your life… But also remember to #KeepTheSecrets

Leave a Reply

