Snow Like Ashes – Sara Raasch

It’s sad to admit that I actually forgot that I had this book on my bookshelf but I’m really glad that I found it and if it wasn’t for the booktube-a-thon I don’t think I would have! Snow Like Ashes reminded me a lot of Throne of Glass which is one of my all time favourite series but in my opinion it wasn’t as good. Although, it did have everything you would want from a kick-ass YA novel – lovable and strong characters, a unique world and dramatic storyline.

Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. The fate of their Kingdom now relies on the eight survivors, one of them being Meira, an orphan from the war and a warrior in training who is desperately in love with her best friend, and future king, Mather — she would do anything to help her kingdom rise to power again. Together and with the help of other allies they must help restore their kingdom to its former and uncover secrets left behind by the previous ruler.

The idea of having different seasons as different kingdoms I thought was really unique and it was easy to fall in love with the world Raasch created because the world building was perfect. The idea of only having certain genders being able to control magic in each kingdom was another interesting aspect which lead to equally interesting and powerful rulers both male and female.

Meira as a protagonist was strong and fierce and had realistic thoughts & reactions; she’s a believable badass warrior. There were times where I found her a bit annoying when she had her little tantrums but despite that she was pretty cool. Of course there was a love triangle but that didn’t bother me. Mather made up another third of the love triangle but I wasn’t a massive fan of his relationship with Meira as their relationship was just too ordinary. I have to admit however I think I am in love with Theron as he is just everything you want from a man as not only is he a kick ass fighter but he’s not afraid to stand up for what is important for him and his people and his passion for literature just makes my heart melt! 

Overall, I thought this was an intense and dramatic read which packed full of adventure and kick ass fight scenes! I give it 4/5 stars and I will definitely be picking up the next book in the series as I want to know what happens next because that ending was pretty good and left us on a bit of a cliffhanger…

One thought on “Snow Like Ashes – Sara Raasch

Leave a Reply

