Legend – Marie Lu

I’m so excited for having started this series and I wish I had begun it sooner! I instantly fell in love with the story and it’s characters and I can’t wait to start the second book and see where the story goes! It is a classic dystopian novel and sometimes the plot can be a bit predictable but despite this it had all the elements to create a perfect book which I really enjoyed.

Legend by Marie Lu is set in dystopian America and follows the story of June and Day, who are both from completely different worlds and have no reason to cross paths—until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death.

The characters in this book were some of my favourites and I loved the fact that they were both from completely different worlds and thanks to the dual perspectives we were able to experience these two different roles in society. The characters in this book, including Day, June, Tess and Thomas are definitely qualified to pull this series through to the end as they are all strong and kick ass characters and I’m curious how the relationships between these four will play out. I have to admit however I wasn’t a fan of the insta-love between June and Day just because it was so sudden but I look forward to seeing how this develops as I think they are really cute for each other.

Marie Lu’s writing style was perfect with the dual perspective and the fact that our two protagonists were completely different people also helped. I enjoyed each of the perspectives equally and at the end of each chapter there would always be a cliffhanger and I just couldn’t wait to find out what happened! Lu also loved to throw a few plot twists into her writing which again I also loved and made it not so predictable. The book was also really well paced which made it an easy read and the world building was also brilliant as I didn’t even notice it!

Overall, I really enjoyed this book as it’s characters were just perfect and easy to fall in love with as well as the storyline being exciting and a quick read, so I’m happy to rate it 5/5/ stars! If you’re a fan of the hunger games I’m sure you will love this book as it has very similar elements including a dramatic storyline and kick ass characters – bring on the sequel.

2 thoughts on “Legend – Marie Lu

Leave a Reply

