Me Before You – Jojo Moyes

I wanted to read this book before I saw the movie and it had been on my TBR for ages so I thought it was about time I read it and caught up with all the hype it was receiving. I think seeing all the trailers ruined my experience of reading the book as I knew the storyline already but that didn’t stop me from enjoying the storyline and balling my eyes out!

Me Before You follows the story of Louisa Clark who is a chatty ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life who also has a fabulous wardrobe filled with unique items like her bumble bee tights; black and yellow stripes! After loosing her job, she becomes desperate and takes a job as a carer for quadriplegic Will. Will is acerbic, moody, bossy but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.

It was easy to fall in love with these characters, Louisa was so bright, cheerful and enthusiastic I could help but smile at her character but I found it really interesting with her past. Will was also such a unique character and his character development is another aspect which I enjoyed. Their relationship was also beautiful as they both helped each other by brightening up their lives. I loved how determined Will was to open Lou’s eyes to the unknown and how he wanted her to gain the best out of life. With him by her side, she gains confidence, determination, learns not to let anyone dictate her actions and finally realises what is best for her.

Before reading it I knew I was going to cry and I didn’t disappoint myself. For the last 100 pages or so, I was an emotional wreck with a broken heart and tears streaming down my face and that’s not an exaggeration. The rest of the story also had many enjoyable elements, and I loved to see how dedicated Louisa was to her job by organising trips for Will and also her relationship with her sister. The story was quite slow paced yet I couldn’t put it down and I found it a really easy read which will captivate you. It also dealt with so many different issues and was so thought-provoking and I loved the fact that every character had a story of its own, it wasn’t just Lou and Will.

The ending was perfect as it worked really well and showed that endings don’t have to be rosy  I think I might pick up the sequel ‘After You’ because I want to find out what happens to Louisa! 

Overall, I really enjoyed this book as it was a very emotional and beautiful storyline with equally beautiful characters and relationships. If you’re looking for a cute and easy summer read I highly recommend that you pick this book up and if you’ve already seen the film why not read the book! I went and saw the film the other day so I will be posting my review soon!

6 thoughts on “Me Before You – Jojo Moyes

Leave a Reply

