Brooklyn – Film Review

I’ve been dying to see this film so when my mum picked it up at the supermarket I was ecstatic and it wasn’t long till I was on the sofa with a bowl of popcorn, watching it! After watching it I could see why it was nominated for so many awards because it really was a beautiful heartbreaking film and I think it’s easy to say it’s one of my favorites of 2016!

The film follows Eilis (played by Saoirse Ronan), an Irish immigrant, who’s life is changed when she lands in 1950s Brooklyn in search for work, where she quickly falls into a romance with a local, Tony (played by Emory Cohen). When her past catches up with her, however, she must choose between two countries and the lives that exist within.

Just everything about this film was perfect from the costumes and cinematography to the acting and storyline! The simpleness of the storyline offers audiences a simple compassionate and sentimental story which is easy to fall in love with. Saoirse Ronan portrayed Eilis to perfection, clearly showing her mixed and confusing emotions but also her character development. It was easy for me to fall in love with her character but also her relationship with Tony. It is wonderful to see the evolution of her as an actress and I look forward to only seeing her get better.

One thing that did stand out for me was the use of colour, as when Eilis was in Ireland or traveling to New York everything was dull and grey except for her beautiful green coat. The scenes in New York were like a burst of colour and we began to see Eilis become more adventurous with her colours (I especially loved her yellow dress!) which helped emphasise the theme of opportunity and the happiness in her life.

I think its pretty clear by now that I adored this film and it’s easy to give it 5/5 stars and is a film which I recommend to everyone because it is just so perfect. I plan to read the book soon as well after my exams, so fingers crossed I enjoy it just as much as I did the film.

4 thoughts on “Brooklyn – Film Review

Leave a Reply

