Miss Mayhem – Rachel Hawkins

I loved loved loved the first book in the series as I found it really funny and enjoyable so when I found out there was a sequel I was excited to see when the story would go. Sadly, however it wasn’t as good as the first and I felt that it was more of a filler book.

Miss Mayhem is the second book in the Rebel Belle series and again follows Harper Price and her friends as they begin to adjust to life again after the events in the previous book but it isn’t long till trouble finds them. The Ephors have decided they’d rather train David than kill him. The catch: Harper has to come along for the ride, but she can’t stay David’s Paladin unless she undergoes an ancient trial that will either kill her . . . or make her more powerful than ever.

As always Harper is a great protagonist and she never fails to make me smile and laugh with her narration and I think without her this book wouldn’t have been as enjoyable. Her relationship with David is also really cute and I love how they are complete opposites and the banter between them. I really enjoyed seeing their relationship develop as well as many other relationships but I won’t give away who! Bee and Ryan were both more involved in this book which I loved as it meant that they could all work together especially Bee and Harper! #GirlPower

The story line was fun and fast paced but in my opinion that was all it was. It didn’t have the excitement and adventure the first book had and like I’ve said before I felt like it was more of a filler book. But aside from that I enjoyed seeing all of our characters interact and work together and I have to admit that some of those fight scenes were pretty badass but also humorous

Overall, I rate this book 3.5/5, as it was an enjoyable read but it just didn’t live up to the first book. I have no idea where the next book will take us and I just hope the third book will be as amazing as the first!

 

3 thoughts on “Miss Mayhem – Rachel Hawkins

Leave a Reply

