Everything, Everything – Nicola Yoon

I received this book from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review.

I had heard great things about this book and plus the cover looked absolutely gorgeous so I was very excited when I received it from Net Galley. Plus the storyline sounded different to anything I had read before and I am a sucker for a good, cheesy contemporary.

Madeline is allergic to the world. She hasn’t left her house in seventeen years and has never experienced the wonders of the outside world, that is until she meets Olly and her world is turned upside down. ‘Everything, Everything’ follows the epic and life changing journey of Madeline as she experiences love, adventure and heartbreak.

“Everything’s a risk. Not doing anything is a risk. It’s up to you.”

Right from the beginning I fell in love with this books and its characters, so much so that it had me crying, laughing and constantly smiling. I also liked how the storyline, for me, wasn’t predictable and had many twists and turns which didn’t fail to surprise me!

The diversity of the characters was another unique aspect of the book, as Madeline our narrator is half Japanese and half African American. She as a character as a whole was so strong, wise and kind despite her illness. Olly was such a cutie. His need to protect Maddy warmed my heart especially when you learn his backstory and why he is so protective of the people he loves.

Another thing I loved was Madeline’s book reviews, little notes and her conversations with Olly. Who writes on the inside of a book ‘reward if found’?! Brilliant! The writing itself felt like I was reading Madeline’s diary. It was very personal and thought provoking. I felt as if she was telling this story to me.

It was also a really easy read, which kept me up late most nights and only took me a few days to finish it which I was a bit upset about as I didn’t want it to end! Speaking of endings, I loved how the ending was so open which I thought really well with how the book went.

Overall, I give this book 4.5/5 stars, as it was a really cute and enjoyable read, with funny and sweet dialogue and a dramatic storyline! Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon is brilliant debut novel you should not miss.

3 thoughts on “Everything, Everything – Nicola Yoon

Leave a Reply

