We All Looked Up – Tommy Wallach

I received this book from Net Galley in exchange for a honest review.

This book made me think. The idea of the world ending in just a couple on month made me think whether or not if I was in this situation would have any regrets and what I would do. I thought this book had a great storyline and I got really excited but in my opinion the execution could have been better.

Characters personally didn’t stand out to me and I wasn’t really able to connect with them at all. Told in four viewpoints: we have the overachiever Anita, the slacker Andy, the all around golden boy Peter and the promiscuous Eliza. If I had to pick a favourite though I think it would have to be either Eliza or Anita because of their character development, especially Anita who started the book as your classic overachiever and ended the book doing something she loved and became more confident with herself.

But I did like how each character was different and how from the different point of views we were able to see their thoughts and the situations they were forced into thanks to the astroid. Their situations were also realistic all the crime that popped up in the wake of the apocalypse was scary and it wasn’t just your classic contemporary. The fact that all their paths crossed and ended up becoming friends was something else I enjoyed as well as their interaction with each other; they clashed, they argued, they get along, they loved each other and they laughed together.

The ending was brilliant and I love how open it was which left it to us the reader to imagine what happened! I also liked how it wasn’t your typical happy ending even though they all ended up together, they all had to go thought some serious difficult situations beforehand whether it was to do with family, friends or loved ones. Surprisingly, this book also made me cry which I wasn’t expecting as even though I didn’t connect with the characters I still felt sorry for them and how their world was now over in a blink of an eye!

Also, I have to admit this book had some pretty awesome and unforgettable quotes which I had to share with everyone! 

“The best books, they don’t talk about the things you never thought about before. They talk about things you’d always thought about, but that you didn’t think anyone else had thought about. You read them, and suddenly you’re a little bit less alone in the world. You’re part of this cosmic community of people who’ve thought about this thing, whatever it happens to be.”

“That was the problem with understanding someone too well—you couldn’t help but forgive them, no matter what they did.”

“Was it better to live primarily for the good of yourself, or for the good of others?”

Overall, it was an enjoyable read with an interesting storyline but a poor execution and I’m going to give this book 3/5 stars. However that doesn’t stop me from recommending this book as it really did make me think a lot about my life and I feel that other people should read this book just for the same experience.

5 thoughts on “We All Looked Up – Tommy Wallach

  1. sublimereads says:

    SAME.
    SAME.
    SAME.
    I’m not even joking this review is perfect. I felt exactly the same. It had so much potential… but it sorta tripped up. Oddly, though, even though it wasn’t as advertised, it wasn’t that bad either. I think I was most upset about the fact that I felt cheated out of a story I wanted to read 😛
    Would you read any of his other books after this?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

