The Man From U.N.C.L.E – Film Review

I received this film for Christmas which I was really pleased about as I missed the chance to see it in the cinema and ever since then I have be desperate to get my hands on it! And what was even better is that it lived up to my expectations and was a really enjoyable film.

It’s the height of the Cold War, and an American CIA agent, Napoleon Solo (Henry Cavill) and a KGB agent, Ilya Kuryakin (Armie Hammer) are forced to team up to stop a billionaire from making his own nuclear warhead. They enlist a scientist’s daughter (Alicia Vikander) to help them, but she’s got her own secrets. Much of the film is the hostile byplay between the two agents, and a lot of double entendres…

From beginning to end this film was filled with action and there was some great actions scene which I enjoyed. I think the real strength of the movie is the comedic element as it never failed to make me laugh with its ongoing banter between Cavil and Hammer.

Henry Cavil was perfect and remained me of James bond from the old movies -efficient and confident womanizer. Arnie Hammer’s performance I also really enjoyed and is so original and genuine in his Russian spy performance. Alicia Vikander who played the role of Gabby is certainly a star to watch this year as not only was her performance great here but I enjoyed her role in ‘Ex-Macina’ and from the trailer her performance in ‘The Danish Girl’ looks amazing as well! She is soon becoming one of my favourite rising stars.

As long as I’m mentioning actors/actresses, I have to say that Hugh Grant did a superb job in a relatively minor role and also Elizabeth Debicki did an excellent job as the female villain.

Since the movie is set in the 1960s, the costumes play a huge part in the film.  All the costumes are spectacular and appropriate to the period. And even though I am a girl and should have been jealous of the girls for having amazing dresses, I was feeling a huge suit envy, because the men of the film looked dashing! 

The setting and the architecture were also wonderful. The characters traveled trough a variety of different locations but all of them were unique and interesting in their own way.

Overall, 5/5 stars as it was a perfect action-comedy which never left a dull moment or me without a smile on my face and would recommend it for anyone who enjoys spy movies, or action/comedies. There is no way they’re not making a sequel!

2 thoughts on “The Man From U.N.C.L.E – Film Review

Leave a Reply

