Prince of Hazel and Oak – John Lenahan

This book took me A LONG time to read, over a month, but this was mainly because things were on TV that were distracting and school had me so tired that when I went to bed, I would just fall asleep and forget about reading! That being said, the book was a little bit slow… but it did pick up and the ending was pretty kickass!

This is the second book in the Shadowmagic series, if you haven’t read the first one, I have reviewed it, so I would suggest popping over and reading that first. This book pretty much picks up exactly where the last one finished and I was very happy to be back in The Land! This book continues the adventures of Connor and his friends Araf and Essa, but the main premise of the book is a quest to find a cure for Connor’s very sick father, and time is certainly of the essence, there are also a few surprises along the way and the introduction of some awesome new characters!

Let’s start with the very beginning, it’s a very good place to start… I was not expecting this book to start the way it did, I was so shocked with the circumstances that Connor found himself in in the first couple pages, it certainly had me on the edge of my seat and got me very excited for the rest of the book! However, after this the plot did start to thin out and dull down a little bit, to be honest I was disappointed. It took a long time to get to the good bits and some things were just not necessary, this probably contributed to the fact that it took me so long to read. Although when we did get to the good bits, they were very good and exciting!

The ending though was just pure class, it was one of those endings where I had absolutely no idea how they were going to get out of this sticky situation, and if it was me in that situation, I would be basically stuffed! Although saying this there was one element that I don’t want to give a way, but I think it was supposed to be this huge twist, but I saw it coming from a mile off, to be honest I was very glad my 6th sense was right! Overall, the beginning and the end saved the book for me, the middle was just too slow and boring, if the book hadn’t ended the way it did, them this book wouldn’t be getting such as positive review! I liked this book, I’m going to award this book a 3 out of 5 stars, a good second book in the series, but I think I do prefer the first, but let’s see how the third one does!

Leave a Reply

