Mockingjay Part 2 – Film Review

Eleanor

Oh my goodness, I can’t believe The Hunger Games is over! These books and films have been with me all the way through my teenage years and have been such a big part of my life, they were the first books to properly get me into reading, and for that I will be eternally grateful! It’s hard to fathom 12 year old me going to see the first film and knowing that when they finish I will be 17, and at age 12, that was old… but to be honest I don’t feel much different…

Anyways let’s cut the dramatics, this is a review after all! I absolutely adored this film! It was so tense and full of action, I honestly don’t think I breathed the whole way through! I really loved that they were so true to the books, but I also loved it because I forgot about some of the things that happened so there were some surprises. There were some occasions that really made me jump and a few rude words may have escaped my mouth… it’s fair to say I completely pooed myself!

The acting in this film was superb! Jennifer Lawrence is, once again, wonderful (QUEEN). Also much of the credit has to go to Josh Hutcherson who plays Peeta, a brilliant, emotional performance that really portrayed Peeta’s struggles beautifully, nice one Josh! It was also unbelievable to see Phillip Seymour Hoffman in his final performance, I don’t know if Amy felt the same but I heard the whole cinema catch their breath as they were faced with the untouchable last performance of this incredible actor.

So… I cried… I cried that the deaths (I will not mention who for those who haven’t read the books) but they were really emotional, I just couldn’t help it. I also cried at the epilogue, it was such a beautiful contrast to the rest of the film and as much as I love action scenes, it was my favourite scene, and yeah, it made me cry (to be honest it doesn’t take much to make me cry…) but it was okay because I know Amy cried as well…

I’m going to make this short because I know Amy will have a lot to say but I’m going to give Mockingjay Part 2 a massive 5 out of 5 stars, it was an amazing end to an era!

Amy

I really don’t want this series to come to an end, why can’t their be a ‘Mockingjay Part 3’! Anyway, I will try not to repeat what Eleanor has said but I do apologise if I do.

Once again this story was filled with action and emotion from start to finish – it was intense! Throughout the whole film I was either on the edge of my seat or crying my eyes out and when the film ended I was speechless which is a rarity for me! The film was very true to the book but the bits they did add like the romance between Haymitch and Effie (which I am 100% on board for) I really enjoyed as it added to the action and the story. It’s rare when a film adaptation improves upon the original text, highlighting its crucial themes while shaping the action into something understandable and gripping.

The cinematography and special effects were out of this world and really helped capture the world of war and destruction as well as all the emotions felt by different characters. The creation of the lizard mutts was not only horrifying but at the same time brilliant making the sewer scene even more gripping and tragic. The journey through the capital which is where most of the film took place was really enjoyable, leaving a surprise around every corner.

I’m pleased that they split the book into two films as it enabled the film to include and extend what was mentioned in the book. I have to admit I thought the fist film Mockingjay Part 1 was quite slow but this meant that Mockingjay Part 2 would be jammed pack with action, which it was!

Like Eleanor has mentioned the cast was perfect and portrayed their characters really well. I was pleased Johanna had a bigger role in the film than she did in the books as she is one of my favourite characters; she’s just so sassy! Sam Claflin is again the perfect Finick and his relationship with Peeta throughout the film I though was adorable and something which can be easily missed. I also thought the Natalie Dormers character Cressida and her team played a bigger role in the film and it was interesting to see how their relationship with Katniss changed from a professional one to a friendlier and more relaxed one which I really liked.

Finally, lets talk about the soundtrack. I am a huge fan of film scores and I have to say James Newton Howard never fails to create a piercing and beautiful soundtrack.

Overall it’s clear to say that I give this film a huge 5/5 stars as it was a brilliant conclusion to what has been a very emotional and rewarding experience! Have you seen the film yet? What did you think?

 

 

Leave a Reply

