The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Suzanne Collins

Today is the day. The final movie in the Hunger Games Franchise Mockingjay: Part 2 has been released! And what a journey it has been for all of us and I am really upset that it finally come to and end however I’m also really happy that we the fans can finally watch the final movie! Eeek, we are both really excited and will be seeing the tomorrow afternoon, so keep your eyes peeled for a review. Here, on A Fangirls Opinion we have decided to re-read and review the whole series, so if you want to check out our reviews on the Hunger Games and Catching Fire, that would be fab!

To end this series we also decided to include one of our favourite interviews this year with the cast (above)! It will very ‘hard and challenging’ not to laugh at it!

Mockingjay is the final book in the series and sees the revolution unfold. Katniss Everdeen, has survived. District 12 is gone. But District 13 exists. Peeta has been captured by the Capitol. There are rebels. There are new leaders. Now Katniss must fight for the ones she loves and for her future.

“Fire is catching! And if we burn, you burn with us!”

Mockingjay is certainly a lot darker than the other books and see’s a lot more character deaths some of which I still haven’t gotten over. But at the same time it is still dramatic and powerful.
What I really enjoyed about this book was the fact we were able to see and experience life in different places which we haven’t visited in previous books like District 13 and The Capital. I also loved the fact the Capital was turned into an area which I thought worked really nicely linking the books together but what was nice was that it was completely different to all at the other games we had experienced; they all had their unique flare!

“Ladies and gentlemen, welcome to the 76th Hunger Games”

Katniss in this book I thought was great. She was powerful in leading the revolution and protecting the ones she’s loves but at the same time she was softer and more thoughtful which I thought was a really nice contrast to her badass exterior! She’s not a fighter but a survivor. Her relationship with Peeta is really where you see her softer and thoughtful side. She really tries to help him and her determination to save him is beautiful. It was also nice and fulfilling to see her realise finally how much she loves him and how much he loved her!

“You love me. Real or not real?” I tell him, “Real.”

My only negative is that I thought the writing was a bit sloppy at times which made me have to read over certain parts and I felt like at times the book was very rushed. However, I did like the comparisons of the two halves of the book; the beginning was very slow which helped the reader catch up with everything that was going on, then the second half threw you straight back into the action.

The ending, I thought was perfect and was the ending I thought the characters deserved. I have to admit, I was disappointed with the end just because it is now the end. It’s over! The last three pages though made all the heavy, intense, painfulness of the rest of the book almost worth it, in a strange way.

Overall, I give this book 4/5 stars as I thought it was a fabulous end to a fabulous series! If you haven’t yet read this series, again I highly recommend you do as it is equally as amazing as the books!

Have you seen the film yet? If so what did you think? But please no spoilers!

2 thoughts on “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Suzanne Collins

Leave a Reply

