The Distance Between Us – Kasie West

As soon as I saw the cover of this book, I knew it would be a cute and loveable contemporary which I would enjoy! And I did. Kasie West is now another one of my favourite contemporary authors along with Morgan Matson and Stephanie Perkins.

Seventeen-year-old Caymen Meyers is just a typical teenage girl who spends most of her time working for the family business. That is until she meets Xander Spence, a charming, smart and oozing rich boy who is one of the only people who understands her. But if there’s one thing she’s learned from her mother’s warnings, it’s that the rich have a short attention span. But Xander keeps coming around, despite her best efforts to scare him off. And much to her dismay, she’s beginning to enjoy his company.

I liked the fact that the book wasn’t completely centred around romance. Yes, there was still a lot of romance but there was also a lot of other underlying themes like Caymen’s relationship with her mother and her mothers relationship with her parents. I thought Caymen’s relationship with her mother was so sweet and it was nice to see that she really cared for her mother but at the same time she begins to form here own opinion on matters and strays away from her mothers bias.

Kasie West on the other hand also writes the type of romance I love to read. It’s not cheesy or over the top. It’s not unbelievable or unrealistic. It doesn’t make you roll your eyes or make your head collide with a wall from frustration. It’s just cute. Caymen’s relationship with Xander was perfect and the banter between them never failed to make me smile. Their ‘career days’ were also really cute and I loved after each one we learned something new about one of the characters. Caymen’s sarcasm was another thing I really enjoyed however I can see why some don’t like it as it very intense and repetitive at times.

The only negative I have about this book was the ending. It just ended. I feel like it needs a sequel or just a few extra pages informing us of what happened to the shop, Caymen’s mother and how all the different relationships panned out.

Overall, I really enjoy this book as not only was it a easy it, it was also cute and loveable! I rate it 4/5 stars, just because of the ending but apart from that it was fab!

3 thoughts on “The Distance Between Us – Kasie West

Leave a Reply

