The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins

With the final film instalment of the Hunger Games being released in November (which I am super excited for!), we thought it would only right to do a re-read of the series and post our reviews for a nice lead up to the film release.

For those of you who don’t know what the Hunger Games is about, where have you been for the past 5 years? I mean seriously?! But for those who really don’t know, the book is set in a future North America known as “Panem”, the Capitol selects a boy and a girl between the ages of 12 and 18 from each of the twelve outlying districts to compete in the annual “Hunger Games”, a televised fight-to-the-death. The book is centred around Katniss Everdeen – a 16-year-old girl from District 12, who volunteers for her 12-year-old sister, Prim, when her name is chosen – and Katniss’s fellow District 12 tribute, Peeta Mellark. From there we follow her and the other competitors as they all must face the horrors of the Hunger Games.

One of the main things I love about this book is it’s unique storyline, there’s just something about teenagers murdering each other that I find brilliant! The balance of action, I thought in this book worked really well as in the first half you had the build up of preparing for the games and in the second half the action doubled as we entered the games and that is where I couldn’t put the book down. The build up allowed me to become emotionally attached to the characters which then made me all so much more worried for them during the games! And then you realise that only one person can win!

This book contains everything you would want in a young adult novel; a gripping storyline, a classic love triangle and a strong female character. The character of Katniss Everdeen is one of YA’s most famous and powerful heroines through her actions. But one of the main things I love about Katniss’s character isn’t that she is powerful one but the fact she is just a plain old girl who deeply loves and cares for her sister which I think makes it much more relatable. I have a sister, though she may be only 17 months younger than I but that sisterly bond is still there and Katniss’s bond with Prim is something that truly make my heart melt.

I also loved characters like Effie and Haymitch and I loved the relationship between them both, it’s funny and it’s cute. Rue is another character that I loved, her innocence and kindness was a complete contrast to all the fighting and it gave the book hope and a snippet of lightheartedness, however I don’t think I will ever be able to get over her fate.

All the action is great but Collins gives us a little extra through a ‘love triangle’ which can be considered cheesy but I think it helps the reader take their mind off all the death and destruction. Collins gives us two completely different love interests for Katniss; Gale the hunky boy from home she’s known all her life or Peeta the shy and kind baker she has to compete with in the games. It’s these two completely different boys which I love because both of them are perfect for Katniss and both have their good and bad features however I have to say I’m team Peeta!

Overall, I really loved this book and it’s uniqueness and I would highly recommend it to all teens – 4.5/5 stars. The movie adaptation again is brilliant and really captures the darkness and despair of Katniss’s world.

2 thoughts on “The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins

Leave a Reply

