Ruin and Rising – Leigh Bardugo

The final instalment of one of my favourite series and what a final book it was, Bardugo knows how to end a series with a bang! And I mean seriously, it was so dramatic! I laughed, I cried and I freaked out a lot thanks to the storyline and Bardugo’s wonderful characters who I love so much.

The capital has been overthrown as the Darkling now rules Ravka. Alina and her team of survivors must now hurry to find the last of Morozova’s amplifiers before it’s too late and save whats left of Ravka. However on their journey Alina discovers many secrets about the past and everything she knows and loves.

The storyline, I thought was really well paced, at times it was quick and fast which left me on the edge of my seat however there were also times where the story slowed down for a bit which enable me to catch up and take in everything because there was just so much going on!! Behind every page, I swear there was another battle or fight which I loved because you can’t have a final book of a series without a heck load of action. The final battle I enjoyed reading and I was satisfied with the ending though there were some outcomes of characters (I won’t say whom) which I was a tad disappointed with but I have to admit everything else was very dramatic at the least.

Alina was brilliant in this book and really shone (pardon the pun!)! She proved she could be a could be kick-ass, strong, manipulative and the no-bullshit-type character however I was disappointed to see when the final battle came she wasn’t as badass as I’d hoped. I really loved her ending even if it was particularly plain and ordinary but it shows that she didn’t need a dramatic ending to be happy.

Mal, I also began to like more and his relationship with Alina is just so cute! He finally realized how Alina’s power is a part of her and that she doesn’t need changing. She’s special for who she really is and her talents bring out exactly that. He definitely became the main brick of support for Alina.

Baghra, was a character I never thought I would grow to love, she was brilliant. She finally shared her secrets with Alina and I certainly wasn’t expecting anything. From there her secrets began to learn more and by the end of the book it all became clear. There was a scene in the book between Baghra and the Darkling which really saw the dynamic between them and I have to admit, I did shed a tear. The Darkling was gorgeous as ever but even after all of his actions, I can’t seem to hate him!

The secondary characters like Nikolai, Zoya and Genya were also brilliant and helped bring humour throughout the story through their sassy, arrogant and badass personalities!

Overall, I really enjoyed this book and I am very disappointed that this series has come to an end, as it a wonderful and unique series I recommend everyone reads and I am happy to award it 5/5 stars! On the other hand, I can’t wait to read Leigh Bardugo’s next masterpiece ‘Six of Crows’! I just read the synopsis and it sounds amazing!

Leave a Reply

