Our Life in Books Tag

We’ve seen this tag floating around the blogging community and thought the questions and the idea behind the tag was a really unique and interesting idea! We recommend if you haven’t done this tag, you do as it’s good fun!

1) Find a book for each of your initials

Eleanor:

I thought this question was going to be difficult because I couldn’t think of any books! But then I looked at my bookcase I was like oh yeah, also I want sure if this included middle names… so I’m going to include it anyway…
Eleanor- Endgame- James Frey
Grace- Gone – Michael Grant
Carter- Crown of Midnight – Sarah J Maas

Amy:

Amy – Allegiant – Veronica Roth
Jane – Just One Day – Gale Forman
Whittaker – Warm Bodies – Isaac Marion

2) Count your age along your book shelf- which book is it?

Eleanor:

This is actually one of the first books I ever read, I used to read these books with my dad to improve my reading when I was in Primary School, and the book is Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s stone – JK Rowling.

Amy:

17 (almost 18!!!!!) A classic and one of my favourites ‘Throne of Glass’ by Sarah J Maas. I am literally obsessed with this series as it is filled with magic, badass characters and a killer plot! If you haven’t yet read this series, you are seriously making a huge mistake and need to read it asap!

3) Pick a book set in your city/state/country.

Eleanor:

I literally live in the middle of nowhere, however I’m fairly sure that the inspiration for J.R.R. Tolkien’s Middle Earth came from the countryside around Gloucestershire and Worcestershire… please correct me if I’m wrong!

Amy:

I’m going with similar lines to Eleanor and linking it with Tolkein with one of his good friends C.S.Lewis! A local urban myth says that Lewis was inspired by one of the famous gas lamps here in Malvern. Lewis and Tolkein were good friends and used to walk on the Malvern hills. The story goes that, after drinking in a Malvern pub one winter evening, they were walking home when it started to snow. They saw a lamp post shining out through the snow, and Lewis turned to his friends and said ‘that would make a very nice opening line to a book’. And so it did.

4) Pick a book that represents a destination you would love to travel to.

Eleanor:

I’m just going to say HOGWARTS, it’s not exactly a destination but it’s like my dream.

Amy:

Anna and the French Kiss! And hopefully my wish will come true this October as I might be going to Paris for my 18th!! Fingers Crossed!

5) Pick a book that’s your favourite colour.

Eleanor:

I LOVE the colour on the back of Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas, that greeny blue colour is just lush! (that’s on the UK cover edition…)

Amy:

My Hunger Games Foil Luxe Editions! I can’t pick a favourite out of the three as they are all equally beautiful and if I have to say look stunning on my shelf! But I also agree with Eleanor as the Throne of Glass covers are all beautiful too!

6) Which book do you have the fondest memories of?

Eleanor:

You all know what I’m going to say…. The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. I had such a great time reading my favourite series for the first time and I wish I could read them again without knowing what happens!

Amy:

A classic which is the ‘Harry Potter Series’ as it brings back so many lovely childhood memories of my parents reading it to me and dressing up as the characters!

7) Which book did you have the most difficulty reading?

Eleanor:

Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith… it was just too weird and I disagreed with everything the characters decided to do so it was really frustrating!

Amy:

‘Gone’ by Michael Grant. I just found it really boring and only made it four chapters in. Apologies to everyone who enjoyed this book but it wasn’t my cup of tea!

8) Which book in your TBR pile will give you the biggest sense of accomplishment when you finish it?

Eleanor: 

Every time I’m asked about my TBR pile I seem to instantly forget all that’s on it… this is going to sound a little odd but I’ve never read the twilight books… I’m sure I will really enjoy them because I love that kind of genre but I’m reluctant because of the films and the size and length of the books! But if I finished the whole series them I’m pretty sure I would feel a sense of accomplishment.

Amy:

‘A Song of Ice and Fire’ by George R.R Martin! I managed to read the first two books in the series but as the series went on the books became bigger and bigger which made me feel quiet intimidated. But I want to keep reading the series as I am a huge fan of the TV show!

Leave a Reply

