The Accident Season – Moїra Fowley- Doyle

This is one of the most confusing books I have ever read, I think I muttered at one point “For God’s sake just tell me what is going on!” but all the confusion is worth it at the end where all is revealed in an emotional climax (ha, no of course I didn’t cry…). This book is a little fire cracker, only about 250 pages, and I think I finished it in 24 hours, and because it’s so short it’s really fast paced. Also you’re constantly trying to figure things out that you don’t even realise that the pages just keep turning.

Ooof got a bit carried away there without actually telling you what the book is about, sorry about that, I’ll do it now… this book follows 17 year old Cara and her family through the month of October, but this isn’t just any month, oh no, this is The Accident Season. From October 1st until October 31st bruises bloom, bones break and skin tears, accidents happen, one after another for no apparent reason. But this month is different, Cara and her family start to discover the reasons as to why the accident season happens every year, but everything is not as it seems.

This book is so mysterious, there is witchcraft, creepy people who keep appearing in photographs, people who disappear creepily, creepy ghosts and creepy similar otherworldly people. I think you get the picture and get that it’s a bit creepy… I really liked the creepy element though, it made the story really exciting and unpredictable, I had ABSOLUTELY NO IDEA how this was going to end or even what was going to happen in the next chapter. I was left completely blind throughout the whole thing while things kept happening that didn’t make sense but obviously somehow linked together. My mind was genuinely fried trying to figure it out. But I promise all the confusion is worth it in the end when all the loose ends finally tie together!

The characters were also refreshingly normal and relatable and were obviously just as clueless as you are, which made me feel better about being confused. Not only do the characters have to deal with all the creepy stuff going on but there they are also faced with personal problems such as love issues and being a teenager in general, but more importantly there are issues of domestic abuse and Paedophilia. Now I know this sounds really awful and completely different from the type of book I have described but it flowed with the story perfectly, and I think it was really important to have these themes in the book because it reminded me that it is a serious problem in this world and it just reflects how it can happen in any family in any circumstances.

This book really was jam packed with all sorts, but unlike other books, it really works! Although I have to admit whilst I was reading this book, before I got to the bit where it all ties together, which is literally in the last 2 or 3 pages, I was thinking about how I was going to have to write an awful review, because it was just too confusing for me at the time, I just couldn’t comprehend how it was going to end. I’m so glad I didn’t have to write an awful review though…
I don’t know what else I can say, a great book if you love to try and solve cryptic puzzles and a beautiful, emotional ending that will leave you speechless. I’m going to award this book a 4 out of 5 stars, losing one star for my state of confusion…

2 thoughts on “The Accident Season – Moїra Fowley- Doyle

  1. Josephine says:

    Great review! This book became a DNF book for me, sadly because it freaked me out so much, and it wasn’t even that creepy yet! But shortly after reading it my anxiety popped up to say hello. Maybe I’ll try it again but I don’t think I could withstand the confusion! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

