Magonia – Maria Dahvana Headley

I found the concept of this book really interesting, so interesting in fact that I wizzed through this book whilst on holiday in France (by the way I read 4 books on holiday and all reviews will be posted in due course). Originally though I was attracted to the cover of this book, it is just gorgeous, I know we shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, but let’s be honest, we all do… not only is it beautiful, it also reflects the story perfectly, which I find is quite rare these days, I often see covers that have no relation to the actual story at all…

Anyway, let’s stop talking about the cover and start talking about the actual story. The story revolves around 15 year old Aza, who for as long as she can remember has suffered with a unique lung disease (so unique in fact that it was named after her). The disease means that the air is too thick for her lungs and she is effectively drowning in thin air. In the days leading up to her 16th birthday, everyone, along with Aza herself are surprised that she is still alive. However strange events start to occur and Aza finds herself flying through the clouds on board an airship in the fantasy land of Magonia where for once in her life she can breathe normally.

I really enjoyed this book, it was full of wonder and interesting theories that I’ve never read before. Along with a good story, this book is also paired with some great characters that restore my faith in humanity somewhat (even though they’re not real people, but we’ll skip over that fact…they’re real to me…) The character of Aza was a really strong female lead, all through her illness and the way she embraced death so willingly and without fear was really commendable and brave. I also really liked the character of Jason, Aza’s best friend. He cared for Aza so much and he always went out of his way to help Aza in any way possible. He was just a really cute guy best friend (he reminded me a lot of Simon Lewis from the Mortal Instruments series)

The start of the book though I did find it quite difficult to read as it’s written very phonetically (if that makes any sense), what I mean is that it was almost as if you were inside Aza’s head and you learn A LOT about her life, her past and present in a very short space of time and it was just a little difficult to take in. Although saying this, I love that kind of writing, where you can really hear the character’s voice, so it’s as though the character is talking to you and telling you their story and not reading it.
This book kind of reminded me of an interesting mix of Peter Pan and the Fault in Our Stars, if that isn’t a spark for the imagination then I don’t know what will…

Just to add a little factoid at the end as I found this quite interesting when I found out, the concept of ‘Magonia’ originated from the Saxons who thought that ‘Magonia’ was a scientific breakthrough, and genuinely believed that there were sky people controlling the weather and stealing all their crops, it was Saxon fact. So the inspiration for the book came from Saxon mythology. Sorry if I just completely bored you there, I do love history, and I just found that interesting, and if you already knew, sorry again…

I really liked this book, it was fresh, new and exciting, I had no idea how the book was going to end, however little bits here and there were quite predictable. I’m going to give this book a 4 out of 5 stars, a good read.

3 thoughts on “Magonia – Maria Dahvana Headley

  1. Summer @ Xingsings says:

    There’s been a lot of mixed reviews on this book and I recently hauled the ebook. Like you mentioned, I have heard that the writing style is very unique, so I can’t wait to see how I’ll receive it. The overall premise and idea also sounds really interesting. I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Fangirls Opinion says:

      Yeah it is very unique, that’s a great way to describe it! I think that if you go into it with an open mind and few preconceived ideas then I think the interesting story will work well with the writing style in which it is written 😀 I hope you enjoy it! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

