Booktube-a-thon – 2015 TBR

5MJCU12s

It’s that time of year again and the annual summer booktube-a-thon is upon us again! Never have I ever participated in a read-a-thon but the idea sounds like great fun and I thought why not give it a go! The Booktube-a-thon is a read-a-thon hosted mainly on Youtube but I thought I would do it here on our blog. You can check out the official video and channel here.

The Booktube-a-thon runs from the 3rd – 9th August and the aim is to read severn books which match the challenges given. The challenges include 7 book-related tasks (that can be combined) to set up your to-read list.

Here are the 2015 challenges:

  1. Read a book with blue on the cover
  2. Read a book by an author who shares the same first letter of your last name
  3. Read someone else’s favorite book
  4. Read the last book you acquired
  5. Finish a book without letting go of it
  6. Read a book you really want to read
  7. Read seven books

My TBR consist of…

1. The Assassins Blade – Sarah J Maas

I am a huge fan of Sarah J Maas and I usually wizz through her books really quickly, so I thought it would be a good pick for a read-a-thon! Plus its got a lot of blue on the cover!

2. A House Somewhere – Various Authors

Finding an author on my book shelf with a surname beginning with ‘W’ I thought would have been easy but I thought wrong! So this is a bit of a cheat, I picked this book because it contained a load of short stories, some of which are written by authors with surnames beginning with ‘W’. I also have to read this as a part of my English course next year so why not read it now.

3. Clockwork Angel – Cassandra Clare

This is my sisters favourite book, and finally after years of pestering and persuasion, I’m going to give this series a go! I loved her ‘Mortal Instruments’ series and the ‘Shadowhunter’ world so I have high hopes for this series too!

4. Talon – Julie Kagawa

After receiving ‘Rouge’ on Net Gallery, I decided to pick up the first one in the series in ‘The Works’ for only £1.99!! Bargain. I myself love dragons and everything to do with them so when I heard about this book I nearly freaked out and now can’t wait to read it.

5. David Golder – Irene Nemirovsky

Irene Nemirovsky is one of my newly found and adored authors! After reading her most famous book ”Suite Française” (which I highly recommend to everyone), I wanted to read more of her work. ‘David Golder’ is only 150 pages so it’s a nice short read which I hopefully won’t be able to put down.

6. Siege and Storm – Leigh Bardugo

I read ‘Shadow and Bone’ about a year ago and really enjoyed it. I’ve also heard so many good things about this series and have had many people recommend it to me!

7. Amy and Rodgers Epic Detour – Morgan Matson

Dependant on time, I do hope to read this but if not I’m sure I will read it when on my travels later this year. At the moment, I’m feeling a contemporary kick.

Being my first read-a-thon, I doubt I will be able to complete all the challenges but I hope to complete as many as possible. Again, I hope to post daily updates to track my progress or maybe post a summary post at the end of the week! Let me know if you are also participating in the BookTubeAThon and what you plan to read! Good luck!

7 thoughts on “Booktube-a-thon – 2015 TBR

Leave a Reply

