To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before – Jenny Han

I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to read this book! I loved it so so so much as it was very cute and the perfect romance. I haven’t really got much to say about this book but that it was a good quality contemporary which had the right amount of romance, drama and laughs.

Lara Jean is your classic quiet girl who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day her world is turned upside down when all of her letters are sent out. Now she must face her past crushes but maybe something good may come out of these letters after all.

The story was brilliant. It beautifully showed the journey of a relationship with all it’s ups and downs. It was funny, dramatic, so romantic and in some cases cheesy but the right amount of cheese! It also portrayed the message of not judging a book by it’s cover though the characters of Lara Jean and Peter, both of which come out their shells and have a completely different side to them. 

The characters were one of the best parts of the book in my opinion and the stress on the importance of family was also a nice extra. Lara Jean is an amazing main character, I love that she’s actually focused on things that matter, and from page one she was just so relatable. The fact she is also asian which helps bring diversity into the book and begins to show a bit of the culture.

Peter K. Gosh, isn’t he just perfect. He’s so cocky and flirty, but sweet and caring. Yes, at times I did think he was a bit of an ass but then he would instantly redeem himself with some cute little note or romantic gesture. His relationship with Lara Jean was to me so real and romantic from the very start and the banter they had with each other was not only really cute but funny!

Josh on the other hand was the good boy, the boyfriend everyone would dream of having and I loved his relationship with the whole family but for me I think i could only see him as a big brother figure towards Lara Jean. He was so kind and funny which made him that perfect male character. But if I had to pick a favourite it would have to be Kitty, as she’s so cute, funny and even sassy at times!

My favourite part of the book has to be the Halloween scene where Lara Jean dressed up as Cho Chang from Harry Potter because if she dressed up as anyone else they would think she was a manga character! When she and Josh started throwing spells at each other, again made me chuckle and when she had her moment with Peter; oh it was so freaking cute!

The ending I certainly didn’t expect but I was pleasantly surprised. I don’t want to give away what happens because it’s the climax of the novel and one of the cutest parts. I am so pleased that there’s another book because I don’t think I could have survived.

This was my first Jenny Han book, but it definitely won’t be the last. This was such a cute, quick, and fluffy yet meaningful read. I definitely recommend it, it’s perfect for summer. If you have any recommendations of which one of her books I should read please let me know in the comments below.

8 thoughts on “To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before – Jenny Han

  1. forwardsandbookwords says:

    I read this book a couple of weeks ago and absolutely loved it. I liked the sequel even more, so I can’t wait to hear what you think of that one. I haven’t read any of her other books but I own The Summer I Turned Pretty series and the first two books in her Burn for Burn series with Sioban Vivian (no idea if I spelled that right) and I’m hoping to start those soon. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Fangirls Opinion says:

      I’m very excited to read the sequel, it’s currently sitting in my amazon basket waiting for me to buy it!! I’m so pleased theres a sequel as I wasn’t expecting it!! Yay!! I love her writing style and hopefully plan to pick up ‘The Summer I Turned Pretty’ soon!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. partnersinbooks says:

    YAY! I love meeting people who love TATBILB! This is one of my all time fav contemps. Yes, Peter is the freaking best and the Halloween scene where Peter was so jealous and he wanted to be matchy with Lara Jean was the cutest thing ever ❤ it made me squeal so much! The Song sisters are the best. Can't wait for you to read PSISLY! 🙂 her Summer Trilogy and Burn for Burn is also really good (but this is my fav from her)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

