The Giver – FILM REVIEW

I liked this film, I definitely liked it, but I wouldn’t say I loved it… I really anticipated this film, especially as I didn’t manage to catch it in the cinema, it looked kinda cool and I was really excited to watch it… but I was a tad bit disappointed… once again, I downloaded this film from Sky (I bloody love Sky) and patiently waited until Saturday afternoon when I had got home from work, dad was in the garden and mum was out with her friend (apparently it’s ‘not their type of film…) So after a long wait I was eagerly anticipating this film. But, although I was disappointed, it wasn’t all rubbish, there were aspects that I did enjoy.

The film is based on a book by Lois Lowry where everything in this futuristic community is controlled, your age, your occupation, your children and even your spouse. At the annual ceremony of age, the main protagonist, Jonas, is now old enough to graduate from childhood to adulthood and is given his life’s occupation. But everyone else has been given their occupation and Jonas is still there on his own, his name and occupation was not called out, but this is because he has been given the very prestigious job that is the receiver of memories.

I really, really enjoyed the book that this film was based on so I suppose I went into this with rather high expectations (the killer of all films). In terms of how the book matched the story, it was basically spot on, I didn’t really notice what they changed or took out, it felt just like the book on screen (bearing in mind that I read this book a while ago and have a really bad memory so I might be wrong). From this you would suspect that I really enjoyed the film… but that wasn’t the case… there was just something about the story that just didn’t translate well on screen but in book form was beautiful. It might be because of the acting, but with high profile actors like Meryl Streep, I was expecting the acting to be better… also, I’m sorry but Taylor Swift just cannot act… just no.

However, I can’t write this film off completely, there were some things that I kind of liked. I really liked how the film starts in black and white and colour gets progressively added as the film continues. I felt that this nicely represented what Jonas is actually seeing, as he is the main character. It also portrayed the world in which they live in with absolute honesty and it didn’t really sugar coat things. I’ve said this already (I think) but I did like that it truly reflected the book and all that it stood for in terms of lessons and morals, but, although it is a beautiful story, I just felt that it just didn’t translate effectively.

This film did keep me engaged so I guess it wasn’t all bad… once again this is just my opinion so feel free to disagree, if you loved or hated this film I would love to know your reasons and opinions in the comments. I’m going to rate this a 2 out of 5 stars, not great but not utterly awful.
If you’re interested in the book, I wrote a review for that and I shall link it HERE

One thought on “The Giver – FILM REVIEW

  1. lucia says:

    I liked the Giver. Although it was completely different from the book. Which is really upsetting. But, if you didn’t think about the movies connection to the book then yes it was good.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

