Game of Thrones Season 5 – REVIEW

I would just like to apologise for the EXTREME lateness for this review but both Amy and I have are only just able to function adequately after the season finale.

I would also like to add that this review will be as SPOILER FREE as possible, I’m not making any promises about the previous seasons but nothing in season 5 will be spoiled for others.

WELL… what a season eh! I don’t quite know what to say! It was kick ass! Going into this season I really didn’t know what to expect, it’s almost impossible to predict things in this TV show, although I had a fair idea of its genuine direction, when it came to characters like Tyrion the trailer gave a pretty clear image in what direction they were heading. Other than that I was pretty clueless.

I can’t really do much of an overview without spoiling things so I’m just going to say that characters go to new places and a lot of it is… surprising? And they’re all in some serious shit. Vague, I know, but hey, I don’t think you want to be spoiled, now do ya… There were so many good episodes in this series, each time it finished I was like WHAT? And would look at my dad who was just as surprised and confused as I was. Some of the storylines this year were very confusing, I don’t know how many times I said “da faq is Arya doing?” (and no that’s not a spoiler, just a bit of insight…)
However I did feel as though there were some storylines that went a little bit too far and perhaps didn’t need exploring as much as they were, I’m not going to say who’s but it was quite controversial and got a lot of discussion. I just thought it was a little too much, if you’ve seen the season then you’ll know what I’m on about…

Quite a few characters died this season, some I am more than happy are dead, others make me want to crawl up and die with them. Yes, I’m serious. I AM NOT GOING TO SAY WHO DIES SO DON’T WORRY! But it was fairly traumatic, especially the season finale…

But before I leave, I would just like to say, if you do know who dies or what happens in a popular TV show DO NOT POST ANYTHING ON SOCIAL MEDIA! This comes from personal experience where the season finale was spoiled for me. For those who don’t know, Game of Thrones is shown in the US on a SUNDAY night, but in the UK it’s shown on the MONDAY night… you can see where this is going… well some inconsiderate person thought they would tweet the MAIN DEATH of the season finale approximately 4 hours before the airing time in the UK. It was fair to say I was pretty furious. So please be careful and just watch what you put on social media and be considerate of those in other countries with a delayed airing date.

Sorry about that little rant at the end there but I just needed to get it off my chest… Other than that it was an incredible season! Full of twists, turns and hidden surprises! I’m going to award this a 5 out of 5 stars!
And I’m sure you know by now that Game of Thrones contains violence and adult themes so I’m sure I don’t need to remind you to bare this in mind before watching…
If you have seen this season and are completely up to date then please pop some opinions in the comments, but please can you keep them spoiler free? Thank you!

3 thoughts on “Game of Thrones Season 5 – REVIEW

Leave a Reply

