The Darkest Minds – Alexandra Bracken

Once again I’m late to the party! I’ve heard great things about this book and it certainly lived up to all the hype!! This book had a great storyline and the characters where loveable and powerful! It is an absolutely amazing book but is also so heart breaking!! This book never leaves a dull moment with action around every page from beginning to end which I really enjoyed as I’m a sucker for action!!!

The story follows the character of Ruby, and on her 10th Birthday, her life changes forever. And after surviving the mysterious disease which killed most of America’s children, she and many others have emerged with something far worse: frightening abilities they cannot control. Ruby must find a way to escape and survive the changing world around her where she is constantly hunted and feared.

I really loved the idea of the disease and the concentration camps was really unique and also at the same time really dark and depressing. However this made them so interesting and left me wanting to know more!! The world created, i thought was also believable and so dark yet realistic which i think is hard to find in many dystopian novel today! Again, the addition of the ‘powers’ I really enjoyed as it just makes the storyline a little bit different.

The characters were my favourite part of this book. Ruby is in my eyes a perfect female protagonist as she is fierce and strong both mentally and physically. She is such a badass who has to sacrifice a lot to get to where she is now!

Liam. Oh Liam has earned a place on my top 5 fictional boyfriends list as he’s sweet, Southern, and gifted with a heart the size of the moon. He is also a fantastic leader who is willing to do anything to save the ones he loves! The romance between these two characters again wasn’t cheesy or cliche but instead well paced and cute. I totally ship them!!

Chubbs was certainly another one of favourite characters. I wasn’t so sure about him in the beginning, but once a friendship started between him and Ruby, I just couldn’t resist him anymore. He’s funny, caring and such a good friend!

Oh God does’t this book have a rotten ending!! Tip for those who haven’t read it yet, I recommend that you purchase the second book as the first contains a huge clift hanger ending which will have you screaming at the book (I know I was!!) I didn’t know whether to scream in anger or just curl up in a ball and cry!!!

However my only criticism (and its only a small one) but at times I felt in the unknown as I had so many questions which needed answers!! Like, what is the actual end goal here of the government and its Evil Dictator President??!

Overall, I give this book 5/5 stars as it had a fab and gripping storyline as well as brilliant characters! For those who love exciting dystopian adventures filled with action, friendship and romance, The Darkest Minds is perfect!

9 thoughts on “The Darkest Minds – Alexandra Bracken

      • iloveheartlandx says:

        It’s hard to think of ones people aren’t likely to have heard of. Pure by Julianna Baggott is really good (it has two sequels), Breathe by Sarah Crossan would be good if you like Pure, Neal Shusterman’s Unwind is a really great one, that has three sequels, Scott Westerfeld’s Uglies is good (although the sequels aren’t so great), Noughts and Crosses by Malorie Blackman is an old one, but a good one if you haven’t read it already, she also has a newer one Noble Conflict which is pretty good. Sophie McKenize has a good book Split Second which is set in future London. I hope there’s something in there that you haven’t read, if there’s any you think you might be interested in then ask me and I can tell you more about it.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

