Love, Rosie – FILM REVIEW

I was really interested to watch the film after reading the book only a couple of weeks ago (you can have a look at the book review here if you like), and I would just like to thank my co-blogger for lending me the DVD (thanks bud!). This film was a really nice break from my revision as it was light hearted, cute and also incredibly funny!

For those of you who don’t know, this film is about two best friends Rosie and Alex who grow up together, it is pretty obvious from the start that they love each other but they’re always being pulled apart for various different reasons.

I did have high expectations for this film after my extensive enjoyment of the book. I was also rather worried that they might ruin it in some way. Although the cast did comfort me somewhat, any film with Lily Collins and Sam Claflin in isn’t exactly going to be bad! The acting in this film was also really good, it must have been difficult to be able to represent an 18 year old and a 40 year old in the same film but they seemed to do it with ease! I was also kind of worried about Lily’s English accent…I have certainly heard worse… JUST KIDDING, to be honest it was actually very good, I’m sure having two English parents helps!
The thing that I really loved about this film is that it was hilariously funny but still managed to be serious about sensitive subjects such as teenage pregnancy. This film really perked me up after a long day of school and two hours of revision on top, so I can imagine it would also be perfect for those sofa days or sick days!

It is always inevitable that when they make books into movies that they’re going to change and cut a few things. There are so many beautiful parts to this story that I was really worried that they would change everything and it would no longer be the story that I fell in love with. BUT I was pleasantly surprised, although they did change a few things here and there, it was still the same story and to be honest it made much more sense on screen than if they just used the book word for word (there are some bits in the book that would make a film a little disjointed).

I really, really enjoyed this film! It really cheered me up and it was worth the (long) wait! I’m going to give this book a 5 out of 5 stars, why not, it was a fun rom-com and a great story! Although this film is a 15 so please be aware that it does contain strong language and sexual references, so please bare this in mind before you watch this film.

5 thoughts on “Love, Rosie – FILM REVIEW

Leave a Reply

