Allegiant – Veronica Roth

I have a love hate relationship with this book as I love the storyline and the series but I hate the ending… All I have to say is why!?!? It was certainly a brilliant plot twist which I know none of us saw coming!! Veronica Roth you got us again!!

Allegiant is the final book in the wonderful ‘Divergent’ series and follows the journey of both Tris and Four (told at duel perspectives) as they both try to discover the secret behind their city. However uncovering the truth comes with a price?

Compared to the other novels, i thought that it wasn’t the best. The plot line in my eyes wasn’t as gripping and exciting as the others. The reveal of what was behind the fence wasn’t as good as I had hoped however I loved the fact we were able to learn more about the world Roth has created! As the book went on more and more started to happen and became harder and harder to put down!

Character wise, Tris was amazing. She picked up the novel when it began to get dull and she also really showed her heroic side! Four on the other hand i was a bit disappointed with as i thought his actions were selfish and childish in some cases. We are also introduced to some more characters which I liked as i think you really needed some fresh faces in the novel but i thought their development was very weak and I wished we learned more about them (except Mathew, who I really liked!)

I enjoyed the dual point of view but the two voices weren’t distinct enough. I found myself having to refer back to the chapter title quite often so that I could remember who was supposed to be talking.

The ending destroyed me! Even though I knew what was going to happen, thanks to some spoilers, it was still unexpected and left me in tears at the end! In my opinion, I wished it was different however I can totally see why Veronica did what she did and I think it was very clever!

Overall, i really enjoyed this book and I give it 4/5 stars! Once again the book was gripping and very hard to put down however in my opinion it wasn’t as good as the other two previous books.

If you haven’t yet read this series i highly recommend you do as it is amazing!! And check out our reviews on ‘Divergent’ and ‘Insurgent’.

4 thoughts on “Allegiant – Veronica Roth

  1. xfangirlproblemsx says:

    I am really sad over Tris death too. It destroyed me in my inside. And it still destroys me. But I think it’s the truth and there died so many people in the book that the chance is really little that Tris AND Four survive.

    Like

Leave a Reply

