Love, Rosie (Where Rainbows End) – Cecelia Ahern

I’ve wanted to read this book ever since I watched the trailer for the film with Lily Collins and Sam Claflin (Gods). No matter how much I wanted to watch the film I made sure I read the book first, so no doubt I will be watching the film very soon and I hope it lives up to my expectations (always risky).

A little bit about this book… it basically follows the lives of two best friends, Rosie and Alex who have been best friends since they were about 4 years old. This book maps out their whole life through a 50 year time span and all the troubles they have along the way. This book is written in a very unique way, it’s all through letters, emails, notes and MSN messages. Not going to lie, it took me a while to get used to it, but once I did I was flying. The way it was written made the story incredibly fast paced but I never felt like I lost anything from the story which I think is a real credit to the author to be able to pull that off…

When I read this book I was in such a contemporary mood and I wanted to read something a bit mushy and full of love. This did have elements of love but I’ll tell you now it wasn’t all sunny, there are some moments when you’re screaming at the characters to just look up and see what’s right in front of them, and trust me it takes them a while… so if you want something really lovey dovey perhaps this isn’t the best option, but this in no way detracts from the quality of the story! This book also had me literally laughing out loud at some points, some lines were so witty and genuinely hilarious! But it’s not all laughs there are some very serious moments that are all relatable to someone and involve moments in everyone’s life that are meaningful which makes the audience for this book so wide and diverse!

I really enjoyed this book. It was sweet and a nice book to read anywhere. I wouldn’t say it was a quick read as it was almost 500 pages (although it does span about 50 years so fair play) but I would still recommend it to everyone and anyone who wants to read a light hearted, fun book! I’m going to rate this book 4 out of 5 stars * * * *, it was nice to chug along with but the only reason it wasn’t the full 5 stars was because I felt as though the book never quite reached a climax and kind of just ambled along. But that was my only real issue.

If you’ve seen the film or read the book I would love to hear your opinions so feel free to leave them in the comments below. And also if you feel as though it was an accurate representation pop those down in the comments as well.

5 thoughts on “Love, Rosie (Where Rainbows End) – Cecelia Ahern

  1. Rosie says:

    I couldn’t have put it better myself!
    A great book and as you have said difficult to get used to the messaging way it’s written but after the first couple of chapters I loved it!
    I was getting so angry at all the missed chances they had but then the fab ending cheered me up! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

