Insurgent – Film Review

I loved the book and now once again I loved the film. Though it wasn’t perfect, i really enjoyed it and was on the edge of my seat for nearly the whole thing! I loved ‘Divergent’ and I have to admit I had high expectations for ‘Insurgent’

Insurgent follows ‘Divergent’ and is the second film in the series. Following the events of the previous film, a war now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. While trying to save the people that she loves, Tris faces questions of grief, forgiveness, identity, loyalty, politics, and love.

There is no doubt these films has an impressive cast. Once again Shailene and Theo portray Tris and Four in my opinion really well and it is clear that they have real chemistry together on and off screen! Shailene was perfect in showing the pain Tris was going through and thought she really shun in the ‘truth serum’ scene. Theo was once again gorgeous on screen and portrayed Four as still strong and mysterious. I have to give special mention to Miles Teller as Peter. His one-liners brought humour to the film and he is soon becoming one of my favourite characters. However I have to admit I was disappointed that some of the minor characters weren’t involved as much as they were in the book such as Marlene and Uriah – but you can’t have everything!!

Another big difference the film featured was ‘the box’ which I know has caused may disrupt for the fans but I thought It worked really well. I thought i made it clearer to the audience what the plot was as well as help driving it. Things that work in novel don’t always work in the film.

The only major negative I had was that I thought the film didn’t flow very well. i felt as if we were jumping from one scene to another very quickly as one moment we were at the Candor Headquarters and then back at Factionless. But I have to admit i thought both headquarters were pretty cool and represented there factions perfectly especially Amity which was my favourite scene of the whole film; the suspense and action was fab!!

If we are just being picky, I had mixed feeling for the ending as I thought it was good for ‘Insurgent’ but it got me thinking about how it would work for ‘Allegiant’ and I am interested to see how things work out in the next film.

Overall, I rate Insurgent 3.8/5 stars as it was actioned packed and a film I loved however i did have some flaws. In my opinion it wasn’t as good as ‘Divergent’ but it was an enjoyable film which I recommend you watch in 3D as it makes the simulations look really cool and make you feel like you are there with Tris, experiencing every moment!!

If you like what your reading I recommend you read the book series as it is amazing as well as checking out our reviews on ‘Divergent’ and ‘Insurgent

What did you think of the film? Let us know in the comments!!

2 thoughts on “Insurgent – Film Review

Leave a Reply

