Insurgent – Veronica Roth

With the ‘Insurgent’ World Premiere last night in London (which Shailene,Theo and Veronica all looked amazing!!) I thought I’d post my book review of the wonderful ‘Insurgent’. I’m so glad I re-read this book as it just reminds me how much not only I love this book but this series!

Insurgent follows ‘Divergent’ and is the second book in the series. Following the events of the previous novel, a war now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. While trying to save the people that she loves, Tris faces questions of grief, forgiveness, identity, loyalty, politics, and love.

This book again didn’t disappoint with its storyline as every page left me on a cliff hanger and wanting to read more and more. I thought the pacing worked really well so that the action was evenly distributed but there was enough so that the book didn’t become boring. I enjoyed reading about the different faction headquarters as we began to learn and discover more about the world Roth has created; I loved it. The ending. Wow. It was mind blowing and I was seriously surprised. It wasn’t really a brutal cliffhanger but it was a very good cliffhanger!

The character development in this book i thought was so good! I loved seeing Tris grow stronger after dealing with so much in Divergent; a heart full of guilt, regret and raw pain. But she keeps fighting, because she is a survivor. She is still Tris. Brave and strong and not without fear, but not without fury and fire too. She’s smart and resilient and one of the strongest, most complex and admirable heroines I’ve seen in YA. Even if at times you might not agree with her decisions, you still cheer her on and not for a minute does she allow you to become disengaged in her story.

Four on the other hands, becomes more open and more revealing with his feelings and secrets, which not only make me love him more but helps their relationship. But his mysterious and dark side is still there adding to the unknown behind his character.

Four and Tris relationship was certainly more mature and something i really enjoyed; it is a powerful love. I love that it showed how it was to have a relationship in a situation were too many obstacles, conflicts, emotional baggages were thrown. It wasn’t easy and it wasn’t always beautiful.

Overall, Insurgent was a very action packed and impressive sequel! Once you read it, you’ll never have a doubt about his series. I rate this book 5/5 stars and if you haven’t yet read this series, i recommend you do! If you want more information check out our spoiler free review on ‘Divergent’.

What’s your opinion of the book? And are you excited for the film?? I know I am!!

2 thoughts on “Insurgent – Veronica Roth

Leave a Reply

