The Retribution of Mara Dyer – Michelle Hodkin

WARNING

This book is the third in the series so there might be spoilers in this review for the first two books but I’ll warn you about that further downn!

 

OOOOMMMMMGGGGGGGG

I have been waiting for this book for what feels like forever (2 years) and it sooo didn’t disappoint! There were so many plot twists and emotional jumps that I genuinely lost count on the amount of times I went ‘uuuurrrrggg WHAT?!?’ it really sent me on an emotional roller coaster I mean seriously I’m feeling a little motion sick… (Kidding obvs I don’t think that’s possible, or maybe it is I don’t know…) annnyyyywaayyyyy

Book 1 summery

This series is definitely one of my favourites! The whole series is about a young 17 year old girl named Mara Dyer, one night her friends Rachel, Claire and boyfriend Jude persuade her to go to an old abandoned asylum. Mara wakes up in the hospital completely unaware of what happened, but she finds out pretty quickly that her 3 friends are all dead. She starts to question why she got to live and her friends didn’t. When Mara is trying to get back to normal she notices this boy that can’t leave her alone and she’s seeing the faces of her dead friends everywhere.

 

Skipping forward to the second book summery

People think Mara is crazy but she knows that she can kill with her mind and that Noah can heal with his mind, she isn’t crazy. Her family are so worried they send her to Horizons, a treatment hospital. She cannot think of anything worse, she needs to get out.

 

FINALLY the third book summery STOP NOW IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE WHOLE SERIES

Noah is believed to be dead. Mara is locked up and being tortured for answers about what she is. She needs to get out. She needs to punish Jude, her undead ex. She needs to find her friends. She needs answers… and she gets them.

I really loved this book, I could not put it down! After every chapter I had to read more as it ended on such a good cliff hanger, literally EVERY CHAPTER, there were some late nights, and with a 6:30 start the next morning (every morning) there might have been some under cover snoozing in lessons…

It was just so exciting and creepy and slightly disturbing… but at some points I got a bit baffled, there was just so much information thrown at you I was kind of like ‘whoa whoa whoa there, back up’ and I had re- read the page… but apart from that this book was awesome!

I read this book in just under a week, and with school on top, that was impressive! Also it was just a really well thought out ending, and I can now understand why it took the author so long to write (so long in fact that I had to google book summaries because I couldn’t remember what exactly happened…)

This was just wicked, I can’t recommend the series highly enough! I’m going to give this book a big fat 5 out of 5 stars * * * * * and THE WHOLE SERIES A MASSIVE 5 OUT OF 5 STARS AS WELL * * * * *!

2 thoughts on “The Retribution of Mara Dyer – Michelle Hodkin

Leave a Reply

