Since You’ve Been Gone – Morgan Matson

I have heard many good things about Morgan Matson and finally picked up one of her books; I wasn’t disappointed!! Since You’ve Been Gone is a classic girly contemporary which leaves you in a good feeling after reading it – it’s just so cute!!

Sloane and Emily are best friends. Sloane is very outgoing and a social queen while Emily is more of a wallflower. This summer they plan to do everything together but when Sloane mysteriously disappears, leaving only a lists of task to complete over the summer. Emily must try and complete them all as well as trying to find her best friend.

The lovely thing about this book that it isn’t all about romance but it’s most about friendship! Don’t get me wrong, I love reading about a good romance, but I think friendships are so important and I love reading about the bonds between best friends.

The storyline is perfect and I quickly connected to Emily and I would totally freak out if someone gave me a list and disappeared!! I felt like I was right there with her, feeling everything she was – when she first discovered Sloane had gone, when she went to the party in The Orchard alone, when she got to know Frank and realised her feelings might be a little more than just friendship. She just seemed so real, so normal, and I think I would genuinely be friends with her.

Since You’ve Been Gone was an amazing read, one that I’m sure I will revisit in the future. Complete with playlists throughout the novel (which you should make and listen to while reading because it just makes it that little bit better!) this book is a perfect! I can’t wait to read more of Morgan’s books!!

So to finish off, I’m going to give you a list to complete over the next year and hope that it inspires you to either make your own list for a friend (but don’t disappear) or read the book!! So here it is…

1. Break Something
2. Learn at least one new thing each day
3. Dance Until Dawn
4. Give Unwanted Toys To A Children’s Hospital
5. Conquer a fear
6. Meet someone New!
7. Write and Keep a Journal!
8. Take time Off and Drive across the Country
9. Laugh for five minutes every Morning
10. Sleep Under the Stars!

Hope you all have a wonderful Christmas and an even better New Year!!!! Feel free to comment, when you’ve completed them!!!

Leave a Reply

