The Scorch Trials – James Dashner

First and foremost I must apologise that we haven’t posted a review in a long time. Thanks to school, work has been piling up and we don’t have time to write reviews and most importantly read!!

Well let’s get to it, ‘The Scorch Trials’! I loved the first book and the second book didn’t disappoint as it was just as good! It is full of action, adventure and constant suspense! I couldn’t put it down!!

‘The Scorch Trials’ carries on from the first book as our group of protagonists continue their journey of unlocking the secrets of W.I.C.K.E.D as well as facing new fears. The Scorch is a hot deserted mess of deadly obstacles which is set up to test the survived Gladers. I can’t give too much away without revealing spoilers however I can assure you it is packed with action and adventure.

In the book we meet a load of new characters which I think is great and each one of them is different. But of course we can’t forget original graders who still play a large role in the book. I loved seeing our protagonists develop throughout the book as they faced different challenges however there are some characters I would just love to give a good smack to!!

This book had everything; a gripping storyline, lovable characters and constant cliffhangers! There was never a dull moment and I am soooooo glad that we found out more and more about W.I.C.K.E.D as otherwise I don’t think I could have coped with living in the unknown!!
But Dashner always left a chapter on a cliffhanger, making me never wanting to put it down however this got annoying as I didn’t know when/where to stop!!
I also loved that I never knew who to trust, who was good, who was bad, I thought I figured out something only for that idea to be shoot down the next chapter after. It was brilliant!!

Even though I loved this book to pieces, I still loved the first one more, but I think it was because the concept was so new and brilliant that I was completely blown way.

Overall I thought this book was a fantastic second instalment to the series and I can’t wait to read the ‘Death Cure’!! I am happy to award it with 4/5 stars and I recommend you certainly read this series!!

If your unsure on whether to or not please check out my spoiler free review on ‘The Maze Runner’ and hopefully that should persuade you!!

One thought on “The Scorch Trials – James Dashner

Leave a Reply

