The Lovely Bones – Alice Sebold

I have to be honest I only read this because my co-blogger and I are studying it for our AS level English and we had to finish it before the end of half term. I had heard of this book before I was assigned it and I had seen the trailer for the film, but I had never got around to reading the book off my own bat, although in time I’m sure I would have. I really liked the concept and the idea surrounding this story, it was really interesting and I felt it could change course at any moment which did make me concentrate whilst reading (a tough thing to do if you ask me)

This is quite a famous book so I’m sure most of you have heard of it or seen the film, but for those who have no idea, the book is based around a young girl named Susie Salmon who is murdered at the age of fourteen. Being brutally forced from this world, Susie watches her family from her position in heaven, being ripped apart as they discover her disappearance and piecing together the little clues they have of her murder. You as the reader are Susie and so know her killer, which is honestly is the most frustrating thing ever, as you watch her killer roam free unable to be prosecuted. But it also has the potential to be seriously tense at times.

I did like this book, it was interesting and at times had me on the edge of my seat. However, being rather simple minded, I got confused on quite a few occasions. Now this does happen from time to time when reading books, but I have to admit this book broke the record for the amount of times I was baffled, and that kind of annoyed me, quite a bit actually. I liked the ending to this book, I felt as though it summed up the story and everything that had happened during its course nicely and I closed the book smiling.

I’m sure lots of you know by now that I slightly judge the book on how quickly I finish it, however my finishing of this book was corrupted by sixth form and the sheer amount of work I have. As a consequence it took me quite a while to finish this book, although given the time I’m sure I would have finished it in a flash. Overall I really did like this book but I was confused a lot and it was a little dull at points, although the tense parts certainly made up for that! For the star rating I’m going to give is a 4 out of 5 stars * * * * I enjoyed it and I would recommend it for readers over the age of 15 (WARNING: there is explicit content)

Leave a Reply

