If You Find Me – Emily Murdoch

I’m not quite sure how to start this review sooooo, Hi. How ya doing? I’m good but slightly emotionally unstable because of this book. Yes it’s one of those. After I finished this book I sort of wondered around thinking about life in a somewhat of confused state, I have to admit, major book hangover…

After buying this book on a whim I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed it but also how much it affected me. I read this book during the process of flying and also that first day of holiday. I usually read books pretty fast on holiday anyway but I read it in something like a day (or maybe 2, I don’t have superpowers, unfortunately) any way I usually judge a book on how quickly I finish it and so on my standards this was blimin’ good!

This book revolves around a young teenager named Carey. For as long as she can remember she has lived in an old caravan in the heart of the woods with her silent six year old sister Jenessa and her drug and alcohol addicted mother who is away for months at a time. This is her home so when strangers turn up one night, she doesn’t really know what to do and is terrified that they will find out their secret and the reason for Jenessa’s silence.  Can’t say much more without spoilers, sorry folks…

I just couldn’t stop reading this book and I absolutely loved it from cover to cover, there was literally nothing I would change, although I have to admit it does get a bit heavy with the subject matter so younger readers please be warned…

Honestly this book was perfect and I absolutely loved it! I’m going to award it a massive 5 out of 5 stars * * * * * a beautiful and heartfelt story that I couldn’t put down.

Leave a Reply

